We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great hospitality, 10/10”
Salamander garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Salamander garden
the Salamander, 9 July 2013, roses in bloom upstairs bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Salamander garden
the Salamander, 9 July 2013, roses in bloom
upstairs bedroom
downstairs bedroom
downstairs bathroom
Le Vermont from the back field
Norman armoire in the master bedroom
The Pointe du Hoc
the conservatory
the coast line east of Saint Pierre du Mont
The American Cemetery at Colleville sur Mer, 15 mn from us
The church at Saint Pierre, the earliest part of which dates from the 12th century
the reception committee, Georges.
the Salamander at night
Henny & Penny
Kitchen showing mezzanine and bedroom
kitchen
the Vermont gates and the Salamander
the conservatory
Salamander  garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Saint Pierre du Mont, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
DIVINGMUF...
DURHAM ENGLAND
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great hospitality, 10/10”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Hillary & patrick made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived.
Cottage is in a great location for exploring the D-Day beaches and the rest of Normandy.
And within an hour's drive to the ferry port.
Cottage has all amenities required, and very comfortable beds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: nice quiet location
Liked least: the day it rained
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kreativek...
Doenrade, The Netherlands
1 review
“Great Location and Beautiful poperty!”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The location was perfect right near Point Du Hoc and Omaha beach and only a short drive to the American Cemetery and other D-Day sites. You can walk to the cliffs. Hilary and her family were very hospitable and provided recommendations for dinner and tips on the area. The bookshelf was filled with several books and guides for the local sites. With a well equipped kitchen and a comfortable sitting room you have everything you need. Wifi worked very well and accessible. One of the cleanest rentals we have stayed stayed in. Hilary even had a baby gate for the stares and toys for our two year old daughter. You can not ask for a better rental in the French countryside!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KOBtravel...
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“Our favorite B&B in Europe”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My wife and I -- and two young boys, ages 7 and 5 -- stayed with Hilary and Patric for two nights on a swing through Normandy. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer.

For starters, the B&B is gorgeous: quaint on the outside, old France, yet fully renovated with all the comforts of home on the inside. It's in a beautiful spot -- a mere 10 minute drive from Omaha Beach and the American Cemetery -- nestled right up on the coast, near Pointe du Hoc. Close to anything you want to see. And Hilary's hospitality was unmatched, with home-cooked breakfasts, fresh pastries in the morning, and great recommendations for where to eat and what to see. She even let our boys collect the eggs of her chickens every morning while we were there. They -- the boys -- were in heaven.

We traveled for four weeks across Europe. And we saw a lot of things. We won't soon forget our time at Le Vermont.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty L
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“PERFECT LOCATION AND BEAUTIFUL HOUSE”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I can't find fault with our wonderful stay at The Salamander. We were extremely comfortable and nothing was too much trouble for Hilary who was a wonderful host. The Salamander is perfectly presented and although not a big property we were a family of five and never felt cramped. It has everything you need and was spotlessly clean with plenty of towels and hot water. The location itself could't be better for exploring all the amazing d-day landing sights and the nearest town of Grandcamp Maisy just a few minutes away has a supermarket, bakery and plenty of restaurants to chose from. We had a truly super holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: fantastic location and sharing a glass of wine with Hilary!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strouken
The Netherlands
1 review
“Excellent stay at La Salamandre!!”
Reviewed 22 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We felt very welcome, because of Hiary's hospitality! The eggs, cider and homemade marmelade completed that! The cottage is lovely decorated and very claen! All the importent D-day beaches, museums and monuments are very nearby! Absolutely recomendable!

Travelling group: Tieners
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing