We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
chestnut street breakfast bar
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
chestnut street
breakfast bar
kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Leadville, Colorado

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michele L
Louisville, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
“Cozy”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at Polly's Place. It was a cute, clean and cozy place to hang our hats after a sunny fun-filled day. We fished and cross country skied around Turquoise Lake before returning back to the house to cook up our trout from the day and watch a movie. It was convenient to town and enjoyed a fun evening out. We wanted to take the kids ice skating so we ended up calling the owner to stay another day. She was so accommodating and friendly. Really had an enjoyable stay.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karlajweb...
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Good:
The inside of the house was as advertised. It was clean (except oven) with fairly new furnishings. If it wasn't new it was in pretty good shape. The water was very hot and had good water pressure. The beds were fairly comfortable. She refunded my cleaning deposit within 3 days of checking out.
BAD:
When we arrived the smoke detector in the front bedroom was beeping because of a low battery. Also the TV remote did not have any batteries in it at all. I replaced the battery in the front bedroom smoke detector and furnished batteries for the remote. The second bedroom appeared to have had a smoke detector at one time but only the wires hung from the wall. The internet did not work when we arrived so the ROKU didn't work either. The internet did work the following morning. Getting the ROKU device to function was difficult. There were no instructions but after about 15 minutes I figured it out. I did not contact the owner regarding any problems that we had because I did not want to be bothered with someone coming in while we were there. The picture of the oven is the way we found it when we arrived. Personally I feel this property is somewhat dangerous because if you needed to exit the house via the back door, you would break your neck trying to get past the make shift plywood fence. The description that the owner uses on her ad is accurate, but after staying here I noticed that she leaves out the plywood fence and other out buildings with broken windows etc in her pictures. The pictures are taken so that those particular things are not in them. I believe she is somewhat deceptive. Because of it's location and the outside of the house it didn't give me the feeling of being safe. I would not recommend anyone traveling with the elderly to stay in this house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot water
Liked least: location and neighboring homes
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2015
Thank you for the information, the positive and the negative. We would have appreciated direct communication so we may address the tenants issues immediately instead of after the fact. We will be glad to compensate the tenant for the cost of batteries and time it took to getting the remotes to work. We do send out the wifi information and passwords for the Netflix prior to the tenants arrival. Google is available for questions on use of Roku or Netflix if the tenant is unfamiliar and refuses to inquire with the owner. We do have the wifi information print out on the refrigerator for their convenience.
I do not own the fence as it belongs to my neighbor. There is a sidewalk on the side of the house which leads to the front yard which is a large parkway. The exit from the front door is a few steps from the parkway and is easier to access as there are no steps. The back yard has no direct exit. The shed in the back yard has a broken window which is being dealt with now, either by complete replacement of the shed and windows. The sheds are private property, not connected to the main house. The exits at Pollys Place lead to the outside, it is far safer than any hotel that have rooms above ground level and have no direct exits to the outside.
We will do our best to be more diligent with the cleanliness of the oven, and battery replacements for remotes and alarms.
We encourage our tenants to call or email us for any burning issues they may have before or during their stay, and we will deal with them asap. It may be as simple as resetting a modem, by unplugging and replugging.
Most tenants use our griddle, crockpot, or grill. The cleaning person must have overlooked the oven. Otherwise we have had high praises for the house being tidy and comfortable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dkutch201...
Lafayette, Colorado
1 review
“A cozy comfortable historic experience at 10200 ft.”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We really enjoyed Polly's Place. It is in a historic area that has lots of beautiful nature around. The house is very cozy and warm. It is a great place to call home while exploring this beautiful area. We found it was easy to go out in the day and return to relax. The property is well cared for. This is a great little gem of a place.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhound...
Greater Hartford, CT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Communication with the owner could be much better.”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The house had the basics but we expected better. For example, there is a TV with roku but no instructions as to how to use it so the TV did not work at all. There weren't enough drinking glasses or chairs in the living room; the front door light did not work so it was hard to walk at night on the uneven walk. Also, I had to contact the owner repeatedly to find out where to get the key to get in. Last, I was told to wash the towels and leave it all tidy before we left or we would not get our security deposit back. I washed the towels and left it in order. I contacted the owner to ask about the deposit refund but I still have not heard anything and it's been a week.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2015
Please allow me the opportunity to respond to your review. Thank you for bringing the exterior light to our attention. The electrician who we hired, traced the problem to a faulty switch, which was replaced as well as the entire fixture upgraded to a motion sensor light to assists guests entering after dark. This issue was not brought to our attention during your stay.
The keys were never an issue because they are inside a lock-box on the front door exterior, which we provided you and every other guest with the combination prior to the check in date.
Instructions for the T.V. are emailed prior to check in and are also located in two easy to find locations in the house. The T.V. is brand new and has never had any problems. The roku box automatically connects to Netflix. It is similar to a modem. It is not necessary to change any settings on it. In the event of any problems, we will send someone to assist. Yet, we were never informed there was a problem.
The security deposit speaks for itself, you kept the house tidy and received your deposit back in a timely manner. You emailed me saying you had received your deposit back, the same day you were asking when I was going to return it to you. The deposit was sent to you a week after you had checked out
Finally, there is a kitchen cabinet full of drinking glasses, coffee cups etc. As for the chairs issue, Polly’s Place is not large enough to furnish as you may have been accustomed to. This is the first complaint ever about the furniture or lack of it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrLako
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Comforts in a rugged land...”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

No complaints here. Clean and updated older home in town. Our 4 night stay was comfortable, clean, and quiet. We hiked Elbert, rafted the Arkansas, and rode some horses during our stay; this was a great place to be at the end of each day. Thanks so much!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing