We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Getaway Weekend For Small Family”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wonderfully equipped efficiency kitchen for all your cooking needs!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Wonderfully equipped efficiency kitchen for all your cooking needs!
Cottage 3B: Knack for Nature Bathroom - Clean, Functional, Comfortable
Linens & Towels Provided
Hillside Entrance
Hillside Property-Historic Rock Wall
Colorado's Oldest Black Willow Grove - perfect for bird watching & shaded picnics!
Sangre De Cristo Sunset
Bull, Cow, Calf Elk-Hillside, Colorado
Hillside, Colorado-Historic Post Office
Hillside Post Office
Hillside Post Office
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hillside, Colorado

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emily G
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway Weekend For Small Family”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

After searching for days for a place to stay near Westcliffe with our dog, we realized some of the Hillside Cottages allow pets. (Some sources said they didn't.) We were immediately sold! On the day we traveled there, we planned to hike during the afternoon, but high winds foiled our plans and we wanted to give our small baby a place to rest. I contacted Barb and she said it wasn't a problem for us to check in early.

Getting there from Westcliffe was as simple as following one road and "checking in" just involved using a keypad to open to door. So easy! Our cabin, Knack for Nature, was spotless and cozy. The one downside: The entry space was cramped, so you had to make sure someone (or a dog) wasn't walking down the hall when you tried to open the front door. No big deal, though.

There was space to set up a pack 'n' play for the baby and a kennel for the dog. The bed was comfortable. And the kitchen was perfect for making breakfast while enjoying some coffee.

We look forward to returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cracker19...
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Spotless”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

A fantastic little cabin. Actually, more like a spiffy little house! The inside is all updated. Very comfortable bed, a small but highly functional kitchen and beautiful bathroom. Very well appointed. We went to spend the weekend exploring the Wet Mountain Valley and this made for the perfect place to chill out. It's an easy drive to Westcliffe and great access to the Rainbow Trail. The main sitting room is combined with the kitchen -- it's compact but very functional and a GREAT price.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aggiebarb
Texas
1 review
“Beautiful little cabins in a breathtaking setting!”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We rented all 3 cabins for overflow accommodations over Christmas with our extended family. All 3 couples raved about their cabin, it's comfort and thoughtful amenities. No expense was spared in the renovation of each of these little buildings located in the historic town of Hillside. The owners were so kind and accommodating. We would highly recommend to anyone wanting a cozy getaway surrounded by the beautiful Sangre de Cristo mountains. Thank you Chris & Tara for making our Christmas family reunion complete!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Every detail of the inside, beautifully renovated
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMic...
Masonville, Colorado
1 review
“Nice simple getaway”
Reviewed 10 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The cabin was cozy but not fussy or overly "cute". All the amenities for a comfortable night or two. And the best part is the relatively unknown Wet Mountain Valley is one of the most beautiful places I have seen in Colorado in my 22 years living here.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2015
Glad you enjoyed your stay, Andrew!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful rustic scenery with upscale touches”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We loved the cabin. It was tiny, but very comfortable, and the interior was surprisingly upscale - really nice sheets, aromatherapy shampoo, fresh ground coffee and a French press. Easy to find, we had great directions. We loved all of the information on the history of the area and the "town" of hillside. Westcliffe is a gem of a little town, and you avoid traffic on I70. Highly, highly recommend hillside.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Megan, thanks for your review! We hope to have you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing