We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
551 results
Traveller rating
307
151
54
25
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
151
54
25
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lone spur cafe train station the main hotel teddy bears antique elevator continental breakfast interior room cookies main street charming hotel stained glass victorian style restaurants and shops modern conveniences street noise historic district the durango silverton railroad
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 551 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018

This hotel is wonderful. I would have given it 5 stars if it were not for the DREADFUL breakfast. The owner should upgrade the breakfast or DONT bother! The rooms are beautifully decorated. Conveniently located nears train depot and great restaurants

Room tip: Request exterior room. Light and airy.
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank GretaGarboFranklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasia_567, Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we appreciate the feedback. We are currently working on upgrading our breakfast options, so thank you for your patience with us while we work on this. We hope you had a wonderful time in Durango, and hope you will come back to stay with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

The hotel is nicely located in downtown, its appearance is great and the interior is absolutely great if you go for a historical feeling with thick wallpapers, framed prints, a gorgeous old brass elevator, thick carpets, vintage furniture and so forth - certainly providing a historical atmosphere.

We went as a family (with 2 kids) and this was supposed to be the highlight hotel of our stay, possibly, the hotel is more suited for couples and not families.

We had a change of plans and, unfortunately, there were no family rooms available. Thus, we had to rent 2 rooms (two adults, two kids) making the stay expensive. This, obviously, was not the fault of the hotel, however, the staff were ambiguous on this matter and inflexible on letting kids stay in the room. They said they would keep in mind if a solution came up. At arrival we were very happy to hear that we could do with a rollerbed and 1 room. This was changed shortly thereafter and we had to rent the 2 rooms anyway.

The rooms were elegant in a historical way, very clean, and with nice bathrooms. However, they were both inner rooms with no windows. Compared to the price, this would have been nice to know before signing in. The no-windows gave the feeling of being inside a ship, the AC was so noisy that we had to turn it off, and the room was really noisy all night (room located next to a tech-shaft?). In this sense, the rooms were certainly overpriced.

Breakfast was more like an average motel, contrasting the look and atmosphere of the hotel. No other breakfast option was presented.

The staff at front desk upon arrival was welcoming, the maids were really nice, the frontdesk staff at departure appeared arrogant.

Altogether; a hotel with a great atmosphere - but be ware which rooms you get as some are overpriced.

Room tip: Ask whether the room has a window/avoid the inner, no-window-rooms (noisy, a bit claustrophobic)
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasia_567, Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We appreciate your feedback and will use this information to improve our service. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your room type. Being a historical hotel, we are able to offer several different unique room types that modern hotels can not offer, like the fact that we have both interior and exterior rooms. Some people find our interior rooms to be charming, but we understand that these rooms are not for everyone. On our website we have clearly labeled all of our rooms for those looking to book a room, and our front desk staff is available 24/7 to assist our guests with any needs. We are happy to hear that you appreciated the Victorian styling of the hotel, and hope you had a wonderful time in Durango.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

Welcoming staff, well appointed rooms, homemade cookies in the late afternoon and a central location across from the train and downtown. Must take a ride in the elevator.
When we return to Durango, we will stay at GPH.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stephen62862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalena_U, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Thank you for your review of the hotel! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comments and feedback and we thank you for choosing to stay with us! We hope you enjoyed your time in Durango and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

We were amazed by the authenticity of the lobby when we arrived. Incredibly friendly, despite the appearance of age, very modern amenities including comfortable air conditioning and rooms with lots of luxuries (coffee maker, ice bucket, wine glasses and nice toiletries) . Be prepared for smaller size but comfortable room to experience the 1890s travel experience. Cute little town with great restaurant and bar choices and of course the obligatory t shirt shop experience.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalena_U, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Thank you for your review of the hotel! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comments and feedback and we hope you enjoyed your time in Durango. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you will be back to visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

My husband and I were there for our 32nd anniversary. Room was clean and very comfortable. We rode on the train to Silverton during our stay. Scenary was beautiful! I would recommend this hotel and the train trip!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEB1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalena_U, General Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Thank you for your review of the hotel! We are so happy to hear you were able to celebrate your anniversary with us, and we thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your comments and feedback, and we hope you enjoyed your time in Durango. We hope you will be back to visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews