We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Wonderful Place!”

Colorado Wolf and Wildlife Center
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Divide
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 28 June 2018

This is a worthwhile place to see. The place is extremely clean and the wolves have very nice enclosures etc.. We visited by accident as we were just driving around site seeing. I didn't know we were near it (as I wanted to visit someday). We were luck to be a "walk-in" that day. It is very educational. You will see most of the wolves and with advance reservations you can 'spend more" and get involved with the wolves if you like. I was very impressed and I'm sure you will be too1

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWWC1993, Desk Staff at Colorado Wolf and Wildlife Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review! We couldn't do this without folks like you so we appreciate your stopping to visit.
Howls, CWWC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"feeding tour"
in 54 reviews
"alpha tour"
in 44 reviews
"standard tour"
in 30 reviews
"photo session"
in 18 reviews
"general tour"
in 5 reviews
"these beautiful creatures"
in 10 reviews
"wolves howling"
in 8 reviews
"red foxes"
in 5 reviews
"group howl"
in 20 reviews
"animal lovers"
in 6 reviews
"money goes"
in 5 reviews
"educational experience"
in 9 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 13 reviews
"love animals"
in 6 reviews
"wolf and wildlife center"
in 19 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 16 reviews
"their lives"
in 6 reviews
Filter

41 - 45 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018

We loved this...a special place....we took the guided tour and it was quite an experience...staff very knowledgeable and not too "preachy" about the issues surrounding wolves.The end of the tour (I will not tell you what it was) was very moving and memorable.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank TheScanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWWC1993, Desk staff at Colorado Wolf and Wildlife Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you for your review! The end of the tour is my favorite part, as well. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to leave such a great review for us. We certainly couldn't continue our mission for wolves and wildlife without the support of people like you. Thank you so much again and we hope to see you back sometime in the future. Howls!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

My expectations were high and everything lived up to them! We went to this, about half-way through our trip through Colorado. My fiance and I have both loved wolves and wanted an experience with wolves for a long time. After the standard tour, where we got to learn about wolves, take pictures and learn about each specific wolf there, we went on the Alpha tour.
It was us and another couple with Mikah & Keara. The guides tell you what to expect (as much as possible) and then you sit and interact with the wolves for about 20 minutes or so. We pet Mikah's back, under his chin and then he plopped down and we gave him belly rubs. Keara is not as sociable, but she came up to us and let us pet her. Then she kissed my face! I went from giggling to almost crying. It was fantastic! We will go back and once we retire, we plan on volunteering.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank lisaquinn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWWC1993, Staff at Colorado Wolf and Wildlife Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thought about your recent visit! We make every effort to make every guest's visit the best possible and are glad that you had that experience. It makes us smile to hear about your time with Micah and Keara. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

Tucked away on an unassuming mountainside in Divide is this venue both children and adults will enjoy.

We had four adults, a two year old, and a baby in our family when we toured this facility. The tour started with our guide giving the past history and population statistics of the wolf population in the United States; for the two year old this was a little long( but she was quiet) and for the older children and adults, very interesting.

After the introduction we were taken to different areas where the wolves are living in enclosures; you are very close and viewing is excellent. The only way you could get a better view is to pay to take a walk with the wolves or do a feeding tour.(Check their website for prices) As we walked along we had an excellent guide who told us some background information as to why the various species of wolves were at this center.

There were several children in our group and they all seemed to be completely absorbed in watching the wolves even if they were too young ( as our two year old) to understand most of the guides information. Our guide was very open to questions and seemed pretty knowledgeable about her subject matter.
Be advised that children need to be well behaved, not loud, running around, or not paying attention to the few simple guidelines given to ensure safety. The children in our tour were very well behaved.

The end of the tour is the coolest bit of the whole tour for kids and adults alike, but I’m not going to say what it is....you’ll just have to make a trip to Divide, CO to find out for yourself!

This venue is enjoyable and educational for any age and a good value for the 15.00 per person fee.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Millie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

My husband and I did the Ultimate Alpha tour and words can’t describe the amazingness of being close to these beautiful animals. We got to visit 2 wolf enclosures and 1 fox enclosure. We also did the educational tour afterwards and it was great also. It seems expensive, but you have to keep in mind you are helping to fund an awesome cause.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank katiesX5860OC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWWC1993, Manager at Colorado Wolf and Wildlife Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you for the review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Ultimate Alpha with our wonderful animals and mentioned that we are also an educational facility. We believe in being a voice in many ways.
Thank you again and hope to see you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Colorado Wolf and Wildlife Center also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Colorado Wolf and Wildlife Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing