We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Architecture”

Historic Denver Tours
Ranked #20 of 83 Tours in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Historic Denver is a non-profit that encourages the preservation of Denver's historic building. We offer historic walking tours of Capitol Hill, Lower Downtown, Larimer Square, and Denver's Main Street. Tours are led by experts that use historic buildings to tell the story of Denver's past.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our tour guide, Ruth, was excellent in sharing with us the history and architectural details of this most interesting neighborhood. It was well worth the time. Unfortunately, a torrential downpour just prior to the tour made conditions less than optimal, but we all dodged the puddles and intermittent rain drops and had a very enjoyable walk.

Thank Bearsfan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Historic D, Manager at Historic Denver Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your recent tour with Ruth, I think our guides are one of the best parts of our tours. They all bring unique experiences and stories to their tour.
Glad to hear you enjoyed your walking tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"walking tour"
in 27 reviews
"capitol hill"
in 28 reviews
"clock tower"
in 6 reviews
"larimer square"
in 8 reviews
"architectural features"
in 3 reviews
"minute tour"
in 4 reviews
"the molly brown house"
in 5 reviews
"buildings surrounding"
in 2 reviews
"wear comfortable walking shoes"
in 2 reviews
"interesting facts"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful architecture"
in 3 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 3 reviews
"local history"
in 2 reviews
"great tour"
in 5 reviews
"nice walk"
in 3 reviews
"union station"
in 6 reviews
"small group"
in 2 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Joan provided the right amount of detail about the architectural significance, history and interesting side stories to keep the entire group engaged. She encouraged other members to share their knowledge and made a variety of ages interested. I will definitely return for another tour, but only wish Joan could be the guide again.

Thank jillbaskindds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Historic D, Manager at Historic Denver Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Denver's Main Street is one of the newer tours to join our weekly offerings. It's a wonderful way to experience 16th Street, and I'm so glad that you enjoyed your tour with Jan. Hopefully we'll see you on another tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

AJ our guide had lots of information about Denver's history, architecture, economy and people to share. He is an enthusiastic, knowledgable guide who lives in the area. That provided a personal perspective that was most valuable. Worth the time and money.

Thank Harry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Historic D, Manager at Historic Denver Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm so glad you were able to take AJ's Capitol Hill Walking Tour, he does a wonderful job and I'm so pleased that you shared your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a lovely way to spend a couple of hours! We met in front of the Molly Brown House and stopped at 14 other historical mansions and buildings around Capitol Hill. It was truly fascinating to hear about when they were constructed, how much they cost to build at the time, and all the ways they have been used over the years. AJ, our guide, was easy to hear and understand even over the ambient traffic noise. He was knowledgeable and clearly enthusiastic about the history of our beloved city. Definitely wear comfortable walking shoes and sunscreen. Bring a bottle of water too as there is no time to stop for refreshments during the tour. Word to the wise - if you have little ones, bring a stroller or backpack. It was very hard for one little girl to keep pace with the adults today and she was exhausted by the end.

Thank HeatherPuckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a wonderful tour of the historical architectural homes of the Capitol Hill neighborhood. Our docent, Kevin, provided great information on the history and styles of homes from Queen Anne Victorian to Art Moderne. When you drive through the neighborhood you just don't get to see the beauty of these buildings. Getting out and walking allows you to take in the details and enjoy the historic value of the homes. It's a great value too!!!

Thank Travljunky2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Historic D, Manager at Historic Denver Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your recent tour of Capitol Hill! We love to find ways to explore and highlight the beauty of Denver's neighborhoods.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Historic Denver Tours also viewed

 

Been to Historic Denver Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing