We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came for the Big Boy, wowed by the rest!”

Forney Museum of Transportation
Ranked #10 of 219 things to do in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We are visiting family in the area, and I saw mention of the Big Boy loco so I decided to visit this museum. Since it is inside there isn't much in the way of camera angles for the train equipment, but being able to get up close was worth it! The cars, trucks, bicycles, motorcycles, and aircraft were a bonus for me. Saw some cars I've never heard of, and some very rare ones. Nicely maintained and displayed. Good explanatory signs. Excellent!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank DHC-Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"old cars"
in 43 reviews
"big boy"
in 61 reviews
"steam locomotive"
in 15 reviews
"classic cars"
in 11 reviews
"on display"
in 30 reviews
"passenger cars"
in 9 reviews
"amelia earhart"
in 9 reviews
"car buff"
in 7 reviews
"motorcycle collection"
in 7 reviews
"wax figures"
in 6 reviews
"train engine"
in 5 reviews
"free lockers"
in 5 reviews
"large collection"
in 11 reviews
"amazing collection"
in 8 reviews
"industrial area"
in 7 reviews
"two hours"
in 10 reviews
"gift shop"
in 15 reviews
Filter

39 - 43 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stopped by here before flying out of Denver. The museum has some awesome classic cars and motorcycles. They are still working on some of the railcars that will be cool to see once restored. The only issue is the location is hard to spot, drove right by it and had to turn around.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Tyler J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Wonderful display of trains, planes, automobiles and motorcycles, showing rare vehicles not seen by many.

Affordable, walkable, enjoyable. Spent 1 1/2 hours, could have stayed 3 hours.

When in Denver don’t pass up this bit of history. Your understanding of transportation in America will be enhanced!

Reminds me of a smaller version of The Henry Ford in Dearborn, Michigan.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank johnvharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

We went here with a group of 19 thinking that our two train buffs would be the only ones really into this venue, but we were wrong. Everyone found something to explore - motorcycles, antique hearses, beautifully restored cars from bygone eras, baby carriages, funny Burma Shave signs, and so many motorcycles. It is huge! Be prepared to leave all purses and backpacks in free lockers. There are cold drinks and a few snacks available for purchase at $1.00. Clean bathrooms are available and there is a very small gift shop.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2018

The price of admission is dirt cheap if only you got to get on the Big Boy Steam locamotive. We walked out of there mesmerized and stunned it was GREAT!! and my wife doesn't like museums, NOW SHE WANTS TO GO BACK TOO!!

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Forney Museum of Transportation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing