We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ancient Israel - in Denver!”

Denver Museum of Nature & Science
Book In Advance
More Info
US$32,49*
and up
Mile High Culture Pass
Ranked #8 of 279 things to do in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Denver Museum of Nature & Science is the Rocky Mountain region’s leading resource for informal science education. A variety of exhibitions, programs, and activities help Museum visitors experience the natural wonders of Colorado, Earth, and the universe.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was on my "need to do" list while planning our trip to Denver. This exhibit takes you back millennia, with representative items from various cultures in the Levant, then brings you forward in Israelite history to the time of the Dead Sea Scrolls (1st Century) and their discovery in 1947. Good presentation. Excellent explanation of artifacts and basic archaeology involved. Probably the next best thing to a trip to Israel! (Unfortunately no cameras allowed, catalog covers the scrolls well, but not all the other artifacts)

Thank DHC-Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesDMNS, Guest Relations Manager at Denver Museum of Nature & Science, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving this review about our Dead Sea Scroll Exhibition. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3 571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"imax theater"
in 168 reviews
"mummy exhibit"
in 46 reviews
"space exhibit"
in 120 reviews
"discovery zone"
in 100 reviews
"gems and minerals"
in 82 reviews
"all ages"
in 287 reviews
"space odyssey"
in 76 reviews
"health exhibit"
in 72 reviews
"human body"
in 53 reviews
"prehistoric journey"
in 51 reviews
"egyptian mummies"
in 47 reviews
"mineral exhibit"
in 39 reviews
"silk road"
in 36 reviews
"permanent exhibits"
in 58 reviews
"traveling exhibits"
in 65 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 60 reviews
"special exhibit"
in 85 reviews
Filter

33 - 37 of 3 571 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took grandkids and daughter....they are reciprocal with The Powerhouse in Durango, Colorado so because of a membership we got in free...paid $17 for the 30 minute planetarium show....the kids (8 and 6) loved it. Lots of summer kid groups but the place is huge and was able to handle it. I'd like to go back and spend a bit more time...although we did spend three hours. All the staff was great, helpful and informative.

Thank mountainswans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesDMNS, Guest Relations Manager at Denver Museum of Nature & Science, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take pride in giving outstanding service to each guest and we’re overjoyed to receive your appreciation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited on a Monday and it was incredibly busy. The exhibits were cool and interactive and I wish we'd had more time to spend there. The gift shop items were overall reasonably priced which was a great surprise. Parking was tight. The only negative was the extra costs for the exhibits.

Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesDMNS, Guest Services supervisor at Denver Museum of Nature & Science, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Laura, we are grateful that you took the time to leave us this review. All of our permanent exhibits, spread out over three floors, and most of our temporary exhibits are included in general admission. Only certain temporary exhibits, like Dead Sea Scrolls and DaVinci Alive next year, will be surcharged. We do hope you will visit us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This display was just amazing! Well laid out and informative. Denver is honored to have been the destinationfor these antiquities.

Thank ZAsb2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesDMNS, Guest Services supervisor at Denver Museum of Nature & Science, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for such a great review! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Only Denver & New York City have the exhibit of the scrolls. The exhibit ends on September 3. Ten scrolls were on exhibit early this year, those of which I viewed. These have been swapped out with the second set of ten scrolls. Over 600 articles found along with the scrools are on exhibit; vases, storage jars, coins, and personal items.

2  Thank Lundby47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesDMNS, Guest Services supervisor at Denver Museum of Nature & Science, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are grateful that you took the time to leave us this review. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Denver Museum of Nature & Science also viewed

 

Been to Denver Museum of Nature & Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing