We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Laings Lodge(Laingsburg)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Grand Hotel(Laingsburg)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
9
2
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
2
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2016

What an amazing place - all your senses come alive - nature your friend!

...gazing at the stars....listening to the sound of night....waking up with the sound of birds...
Peaceful!
What a privilege to have stayed there.

thank you - we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank scubaduba2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Magnificent lodge with all the features. Multiple small touches which show the management are thinking about the business. Will definitely visit again. One of the best designed entertainment areas we've seen.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016

Wagendrift Lodge is a destination rather than a stopover as it's not on the way to anywhere. It is 30 km from Laingsburg on the tar road and 63 km from the R62 on a dirt road. These are 'country kilometers' and much longer than the old mile. The scenery is spectacular especially coming through Seveweeks Poort pass; however I would not like to travel on that dirt road after rain but it is fine traveling from Laingsburg on the tar.
Anita is the perfect host and made us feel welcome after a long journey. We stayed in a rustic chalet. The farm is self catering and most guests do a barbecue. Wood is provided. Make sure you bring enough beer and wine and soft drink. The water comes from a borehole and 'townies' like myself need to acclimatize to it as it tastes different from our tap water. It's fine in hot tea, though. Don't think you can go to a restaurant for dinner as there are none within an hour's drive. Settle down, enjoy the fire and your meat and your beer and wine. Afterwards enjoy the silence and look up at the stars. It really is quiet; Anita told me one man came from London and the next day had to leave because it was too quiet and he could not sleep.
I don't think there is cellphone reception which IMHO is not a bad thing.
The scenery is lovely and it's pleasant to walk around in the cool of evening. An ideal resort for a romantic getaway but there were quite a few children there when we arrived, all enjoying the lovely pool.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Murton-Plettenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2015

We stayed at WagonDrift Lodge on our annual cycle tour - this year from Ceres , through the Karoo to George. We did a looooong stage from Sutherland to Laingsburg before arriving at WagonDrift Lodge. The lodge is very tastefully decorated and well appointed, and a place that the wife would be very comfortable to stay at. Clean and comfortable. We braaid for ourselves (self catering), but with help in the morning to clean the dishes. Very good nights sleep.

Room Tip: To the best of my recollection, we stayed at Nguni Lodge on the river which was great..
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Warwick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2015

We stayed one night during our motorcycle trip, we got the cottage instead of the lodge (which is for 3 booked rooms minimum). The lodge looks nicer, but the cottage was comfortable, quite small inside and basic, but the stoep was very nice. It is quiet there, nice location, make sure you stock up on food, water, etc. I would stop again, but probably with more people and at the lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank vonReichenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews