We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Laings Lodge(Laingsburg)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Grand Hotel(Laingsburg)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
9
2
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
2
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

We booked one night and after 3min realized we should have booked the entire weekend here, lovely place, lovely rooms and really a undescribable atmosphere, we stayed in the lodge room 5, room was nice and warm, bed nice and clean and had a lovely night infront of a fire with some red wine. For a romantic night or a weekend with friends i would really recommend this place! Owner is very friendly and helpful also!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 957bernhardh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

Absolutely stunning accommodation. Every convenience needed. Beautifully decorated. Stunning. Beautiful. Quiet and serene. Very relaxing and a stunning pool. No cell reception which was perfect for us. I would love to go back with 4 other couples for a relaxing really stunning party weekend.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank JanetandJohnCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were very, very disappointed in our experience with Wagendrift Lodge. We had booked months in advance and paid in full via their own website and contact information.

When it came time for our stay we arrived to find that the directions we were given were completely incorrect and led to us driving down what seemed to be a riverbed. We tried to contact the office via the contact information we had on the booking proof, but there was little cell reception so it took about 30min to find a spot where we would make the call. We got through to them and the woman on the other end kept telling us the same thing over and over (which we had in writing and had printed from them already, so she was just reading it off) - and went so far as to tell us to keep going until we went over the cattle gate saying, and I quote, 'The one that goes cluck cluck cluck when you drive over it' - implying we were too stupid to know what this was from the directions. We then lost signal so had to give up on that delightful chat.

Eventually after heading back we ran into a farmer who laughed and laughed when we told him where we were trying to go and asked if we had a 'Plan B'. We found out from him that the farm roads (access to the lodge is through a farm) had all been washed away the week before in a storm and there was now no access to the lodge at all!

NO ONE communicated this to us at all, even though we had booked and paid in advance so they must have known we were coming!

At this point after more than an hour of driving around looking for the place and then speaking to all the various people we decided to give up on it as a bad job all round and headed back to town to try and search for somewhere to stay.

On the way back into town the owner of the lodge eventually gave us a call back to say that the management agency (that's right, cluck cluck lady was in an office somewhere farrrrr away from Laingsburg so didn't have a clue either) had contacted her and she didn't have us on her books which is why she hadn't let us know about the roads.

So I forwarded all of the e-mails to her as well as proof of payment, for which we eventually got a refund after much debate.

All in all a really poor experience after a long drive that could have been avoided if there was decent management running the place. I can't speak for what the lodge itself looks like though, as we still have no idea where it actually is, and highly doubt we'll ever attempt it again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank ElanaBotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed at Wagendrift lodge for one night. After getting there we wished we could have stayed longer. The location is very good, very quiet and peaceful. We had the lodge to ourselves, as they do not book different parties at a time. We had access to a very large kitchen/dining area with great views.

The gardens around the lodge were very nice with many flowers, which attracted a nice variety of birds. The pool was a bit cool but nice. The rooms were good size with comfortable beds.

I would stay here again if we are in the area

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarracenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: höchsten Komfort gibt's in den Lake Lodge
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews