We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Fountain schedule erratic

We stayed walking distance from this park for a week. The sign by the Uncle Wilbur fountain said it... read more

Reviewed 11 June 2017
vdempsey
,
Quincy, IL
via mobile
Ok park.....

It was an ok park, kept up nicely, but there were a few homeless people hanging out, and the... read more

Reviewed 8 February 2017
Bernardo F
,
New York City, New York
Read all 36 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Colorado Springs
from US$150,00
More Info
from US$88,00
More Info
from US$118,80
More Info
from US$219,00
More Info
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
3
6
12
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
6
12
9
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

The summer brings the fountain which the kids can enjoy! The park's layout is pleasant and treed, lots of grass for a picnic.
Sometimes, there is an arts and crafts market or other activities during the weekend.
Sadly, the homeless people linger around in groups, are sleeping there or are asking you for money. If that doesn't bother you, then never mind it.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Where2NextColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

You will get constantly harassed by beggars and bums. They litter all over the park. Not much fun to utilize if you can't do it peacefully. It was a little scary after dark with not much lighting and the same harassment.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank alexf1347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

This downtown park is just one square block but usually has some kind of activity going on. In the summer, the fountains are going for kids to run through and in winter an ice rink is brought in for skaters. There are homeless people around, mostly in the warmer months, but they are really no bother - most just like to sleep on the grass.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Laura-OCCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Acacia Park is part of any trip downtown. Once you have walked up and down Tejon Street, the park is a good place to sit in the shade and have a cold drink or a sandwich from one of the close by restaurants. We went into Acacia Park to hide some painted rocks that we hope someone will find and then post on 719rocks. The park had a good typical summer crowd in it and there were many things to do in the park. We went to the game area. They have giant chess, score four, corn hole, and a few other games you can play for free while you are in the park. There is a community Police sub station in the same building, and the Police are working very hard to keep the park free from homeless and others who sometimes mill around in groups. There is a fountain called Uncle Wilbur's Fountain that is a splash zone for kids of all ages. It looks like a simple fountain until suddenly the music starts and the fountain opens to reveal all sorts of colorful surprises. When it's really hot outside, the fountain serves as a place to cool off. This park was dedicated to the city in 1871, and it is still a vital part of downtown. There is a bandshell that has concerts on some weekends. All in all, this is a very nice city park.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Daddio53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed walking distance from this park for a week. The sign by the Uncle Wilbur fountain said it runs from noon to 6. (Subject to change). Twice we tried around 4:00. It was turned off. Once we were told it was weather. Granted it was cloudy but was not raining. Second time a local lady told us the operator just decided to close early and we should try America the Beautiful park nearby the next day which started at 11:00. See my other review of that park where we waited 15 minutes only to be told it would turn on at noon. We drive back downtown at 11:30 and lo and behold the Wilbur fountain was running early. So finally the kids got to get wet. But I was rather frustrated and sent an email to the Parks department to get their act together! Also comments about homeless people camping out is true and made the kids a little uncomfortable.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank vdempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews