We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! But access can be a challenge.”
Review of Glen Eyrie Castle

Glen Eyrie Castle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled on 750 breathtaking acres with 97 lodging rooms, Glen Eyrie's stunning beauty and rich spiritual heritage create a place where, for a few sacred moments, guests can set aside their troubles and catch their breath. The Glen Eyrie staff ministers by thoughtfully creating experiences which set the stage for all to discover, explore, and be transformed. Whether guests come with a group for a retreat, individually for a program or conference, or for historical teas, tours, or overnight stays, Glen Eyrie serves a sanctuary and safe haven of transformation and inspiration. As the conference and camping ministry of The Navigators, The Glen Eyrie Group is comprised of Glen Eyrie and Eagle Lake Camps. Built upon the unique intersection of natural, historical, and spiritual heritages, the Glen Eyrie Group promises to stay true to our Navigator calling by purposefully and thoughtfully ministering to guests through Christ-centered, excellent service and innovative programming.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The glory of the structure is only surpassed by the natural beauty of the grounds on which it sits. It sits on Navigators property, and they limit access, so be sure to plan ahead. The annual renaissance themed Christmas dinner is a huge hit, and rightfully so.

1  Thank montanapescado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen E, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello! Thank you for reviewing your time with us. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your time on property - we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"high tea"
in 51 reviews
"general palmer"
in 35 reviews
"carriage house"
in 19 reviews
"conference center"
in 13 reviews
"music room"
in 11 reviews
"rose garden"
in 10 reviews
"wild turkeys"
in 12 reviews
"big horn sheep"
in 27 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 20 reviews
"book store"
in 9 reviews
"interesting history"
in 10 reviews
"open to the public"
in 6 reviews
"hiking trails"
in 8 reviews
"rock formations"
in 12 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 7 reviews
"navigator"
in 59 reviews
"bookstore"
in 24 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Glen Eyrie is located right outside the breath taking Garden of the Gods in Colorado Springs and it’s actually not just a regular lodging option. It’s a castle (for real) and a conference center.

We stayed in Glenview Lodge, one of several lodge options besides the castle itself. In Glenview we were in a wonderful location, about as far back on the campus as you can go, quiet and private and cozy. We had two rooms – which was such a treat for us since we’d been cramming six of us into two beds at most hotels along the way. There was an adjoining door between the rooms so it felt quite spacious. The lodging at Glenview was simple, but more than adequate and it was clean and tidy and welcoming and word on the royal castle street is that it’s being remodeled soon. Glenview had no TV – which was actually fantastic. Hotel lodgings so often make you feel forced to stare at a screen of nonsense you never intended to watch anyway.

Instead of TV, what we did was so much more magical. Right outside our lodge, as in, directly outside of our parking area, was a hiking trail. We scampered along that for a good while. Much to the sheer satisfaction of my sons and much to the – what word is opposite of satisfaction – to my daughters.

When we trekked it back down to the lodge we discovered another major selling point for Glen Eyrie over any other hotel experience. Because there were only a few families staying at our same lodge – whom we met and chatted with – (they were from Indiana, attending a conference at Glen Eyrie) we were able to really feel at home and safe. The kids who so desired settled in with novels and snacks. The kids who so desired not to settle in climbed on rocks and looked for wildlife. (Mule deer, loads of birds and whatnot.) I met in the middle and strung my hammock between some trees by the lodge and read a novel – half way between both sets of kids.

You guys. Have you ever had that sort of luxury at a hotel? I guarantee I have not.
It was truly the most relaxing way to spend a little down time while not in the car and not being forced to stay cramped in a small hotel room watching endless television.

We wandered around the entire Glen Eyrie campus later that evening, admiring the castle and the grounds and the gorgeous landscaping and the beautiful back drop of rocks and outcroppings and mountains. We were right in the heart of Colorado Springs and could have explored there all we wanted, but after having just driven across half of the United States, what we really wanted was to sit still in hammocks or climb on rocks. (And of course we left our own little Ebenezer. Six rocks.)

The next morning we headed into the castle for breakfast. (Which is included in your stay.) And just like the lodging and the views were unlike any other hotel stay, the breakfast was also wildly unlike a hotel continental breakfast. In fact, it was nothing like one. You could eat on the porch overlooking gorgeous views or inside the lovely dining room. The food was plentiful and delicious, the staff was friendly and accommodating. It was the perfect start to our morning. Leisurely and wonderful. We had walked to the castle from our lodge so it was just as dreamy and pleasant to walk back after breakfast.

Before we left the castle itself though, we explored inside it a bit. (With permission, naturally.) It was such fun. It’s really a castle. And it’s really so charming. I definitely want to stay inside the castle in one of those rooms one day.
Plus, there are tours available and geology talks and so much more – I think we barely scratched the surface. This spot could definitely be home base for an entire adventure around the area.

Between the six of us with frequently differing opinions on what we enjoy, Glen Eyrie was the perfect lodging choice for us. In fact, it has already been requested by the kids to make it a regular part of our western adventures loop. It made every one of us happy. There happened to be a wedding on the campus, not too far from our lodging, the same night we stayed and their music drifted happy into our open windows late into the evenings and even that felt as if it contributed to our joyful stay.

1  Thank SoEveryDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen E, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello! Thank you for reviewing your time with us in such detail - so valuable for us to have this feedback on what our guests are experiencing while on property. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your time here - you have painted a wonderful picture of what we continue to strive for! We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is beautiful and well hidden! The rose garden when in full bloom is heaven on earth! Take up once of the many shows, or dinners here as you won't regret it! A wonderful place to enjoy wildlife, beautiful scenery, and to just unwind.

Thank Bean_Bandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen E, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello! Thank you for reviewing your time with us. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your time on property - we hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The grounds are beautiful; love the coffee shop and their special tea. Located near Garden of the gods it is a refreshing getaway.

Thank dee494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen E, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello! Thank you for reviewing your time with us. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your time on property! We are next door neighbors with Garden of the Gods - spending time both here and there makes for a great afternoon! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I love visiting old castles/mansions and learning about their history and seeing the beautiful architecture and design. This castle has an interesting history, and what we saw of it was certainly beautiful. However, keep in mind that it is an actively used facility with lodging guests, teas, and events. We didn't see many rooms at all because they were being used for events or occupied by guests. I think it's still worth a visit, though.

Thank CO811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen E, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello! Thank you for reviewing your time with us. There certainly is a lot of history - we're glad to hear you enjoyed touring and learning more about it! I'm sorry you weren't able to see all the lodging rooms; It does happen on occasion that our historical rooms are booked out by overnight guests. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glen Eyrie Castle also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Glen Eyrie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing