We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gold King Retreat is better than anyplace we have...”

Review of Gold King Retreat

Open concept great room with bar, mini gran piano, kitchen and dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open concept great room with bar, mini gran piano, kitchen and dining area
Great room with mini grand piano Private hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Open concept great room with bar, mini gran piano, kitchen and dining area
Great room with mini grand piano
Private hot tub
Theatre Room
Master Suite with fireplace, private sitting room and private patio
Great Room with 5-foot high fireplace
Master Suite private pario
Kitchen with counter dining adjacent to formal dining area
Dining Room with views of back garden and national forest
Main floor full bar
Main floor game room with card table and TV
Master Suite
Master Suite sitting room with see-through fireplace
Master Bathroom with steam shower
Master Suite sitting room with private patio access
Billiards Room
Mini master 1 with king bed
Mini master 1 en-suite Bathroom
Mini master 2 with king bed
Mini master 2
Mini master 3 with two queen beds
Mini master 4 with queen bed and en-suite bathroom
Garden level bedroom with two queen beds and two bunk beds
Garden level queen beds and private access to front yard
Garden level queen beds
Garden level bedroom bunk beds
Mini master 4 en-suite Bathroom
Garden level full shared bathroom
Office with views of national forrest
Hot tub in fenced in back yard
Hot Tubw ith bar and seating
Front patio with grassy lawn
Front patio with seating for 12
Front patio off great room enterance
Six Bedroom Breckenridge Vacation Rental
Exterior Winter View
Exterior Driveway View
Master Suite private patio with access from bedroom and sitting room
Main floor powder room
Mini master 2
Mini master 3 with two queen beds
Mini master 2 en-suite Bathroom
Mini master 3 en-suite Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Breckenridge, Colorado

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bjilek
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Overall nice, massive home, but advertised amenities and perks unavailable/unusable. Not worth price paid”
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Massive house with enough room to sleep 14 comfortably. Would be great for families, although our trip consisted of 4 couples. The kitchen and bar are very nice. The jacuzzi is easily accessible, although the deck is not heated so ice accumulation can be problematic. All the bathrooms and bedrooms were large and modern. Overall, we enjoyed the stay. However, there were several things we were disappointed with which gave us a bad taste in our mouth.

First, while they advertise there being a "private VIP shuttle" (a business called Plan B) it is not reasonably usable, particularly when you would actually want it. This service was one of the main reasons we chose this property over smaller properties within walkind distance of town or close to the free bus stops. This company apparently communicates only using land-lines only so if Verizon goes down, which it did during our stay, guests cannot use the service. On the day we had planned to get a ride to and from downtown Breck, we called numerous times and got voicemail each time. Moreover, when we finally received a return call we were advised that on any of the days we wanted to use this service they had very limited times for pickup or drop-off and effectively had to notify them the day before, which is simply not reasonable whether you are skiing or shopping in town. Finally, they only run until 5:30 pm so it is not beneficial when you really would want it most, such as getting to and from dinner when you may want to have some adult libations. In short, the Plan B shuttle service is pretty much a waste requiring you drive everywhere.

Second, many of the electronics in this relatively new house were inexplicably not working. The movie theater room was useless as the DVD player was not working, the jukebox in the pool room was broken, and the house stereo, which requires WiFi to operate, was inoperable when Verizon was down. In addition, they don't have any easy way for you to connect your own music (and warn you not to modify any of the electronic equipment) so you are stuck with what they have (Pandora), assuming the internet is even available.

Lastly, we were not impressed with the management company, Book Breck Lodging. In the initial stages, their representative attempted to sell us on the house by stating it included a "full bar" ("[T]his home offers a private movie theater, a game room, a pool room, a full bar and so much more."). As "full bar" of course notates to everyone that alcohol is included, when we inquired further she gave her definition of a "full bar" as a fully stocked bar as in "glasses, dishwasher, ice maker and all necessary items to make a specialty cocktail outside of the alcohol." At the very least, it came off as misleading. We also were not impressed by their customer service. For example, we brought to their attention the fact that we were not able to utilize several of these services they advertised (see above) asking that we receive some compensation/refund accordingly to which they responded that everyone in the area was being inconvenienced. Thus, I guess we should be glad the water and electricity was working since their response would apparently be, tough luck even though you paid for it. Our other paying customers are cold too.

In short, while the home is massive and relatively new, we did not find it to be worth the price paid, particularly given the location well outside walking distance to town or the nearest bus stop, requiring you drive everywhere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of the home
Liked least: Advertised perks and amenities were unavailable or unusable
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2015
We are truly sorry to hear that the home did not meet your expectations and sincerely appreciate your comments here so that we can avoid unintentionally misleading any future guests. We certainly do not want to mislead anyone since that would only result in unsatisfied guests and we want all our guests to have the experience that the others that have posted here have had.

To your points, first, while it’s true that power outages are not unheard of here in the mountains and can be disruptive, what you experienced with Comcast being down in the entire county and neighboring county is uncommon. With Comcast being the leading provider of cable, internet and phone lines, the severed fiber optic was extremely frustrating and disconcerting for businesses, residents and guests alike and I am sorry that you had to experience those hours without the ability to place or receive calls or emails. That is not something that I would expect to happen again so I hope you haven’t crossed Breckenridge off your list because of that experience.

Also, we have not previously had anyone report that they expected the bar to be stocked with alcohol so we are so glad you raised that point so no one else has that misconception. We do not provide alcohol, but the home does have a full bar versus a wet bar.

I wish we had known that you were unable to figure out the DVD player because we would have gladly come out to troubleshoot that for you. The DVD player is working but that system can be a complicated to figure out. I hope all our guests know that they can always call us if the instructions we have in the home are insufficient.

Lastly, we will look into if providing an auxiliary cord will allow guests to play their own music for those who want more that the radio, Pandora or Rhapsody so thank you for pointing that out.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. We are sincerely sorry that your experience was less than perfect.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved the backyard fenced in.
Liked least: That there was only one towel per guest. Also there needed to be some counter cleaners in the kitchen.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Jun 2014
Thank you, Robert. So glad that you and your family had a good time at the Gold King Retreat. We look forward to welcoming you all back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Family Get-Away Home”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We spent a week in July with our two sons' and their families in this beautiful home. It was everything we could have asked for and more. The spacious home is not only luxurious, but welcoming and comfortable. It met all our needs and we will definitely consider it for our next family vacation! Plus, Breckenridge provided many fun experiences for every age group. Thanks for the memories!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Augustine
Reviewed 29 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
omaha
Reviewed 26 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing