We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Service”
Review of The Trading Post

The Trading Post
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Shaver Lake
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 24 August 2020

Host made room even though we had no reservation. Server was more of a tour guide than a waitress. Gave Excellent recommendations and made sure we enjoyed every bite and sip of our meal. Had to sit outside b/c of COVID-19, but they have made the ambience festive while maintaining their top shelf feel. No visit to Shaver is complete without a visit to the Trading Post and Kelley's impeccable service with a smile.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank bensH1796LM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2019 via mobile

I enjoy the rustic charm of the old Bretz Mill mess hall. The floors are sloped and uneven and the fireplace warms the restaurant during cooler evenings. I always enjoy their calamari dinner...best I have had.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank jimsP9072PH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 September 2019 via mobile

Very good service and food was cooked just right. Best place to eat in Shaver Lake. We have been here 3 times and it has not disappointed. I recommend calling in for reservations because it can get busy on weekends.

Date of visit: September 2019
2  Thank fredpV8466JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 March 2019

Hey. You're driving up or down the hill. This is worth the stop for anything you need -- BUT, the cookies are great!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Baywalk827
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 November 2018

It had been awhile since we dined here and I remembered it being very cozy with good food. The ambiance is very rustic with a woodburning stove in the main dining room and a fireplace in the bar area. We chose to sit at one of the booths. It is nice that all entrees include a cup of soup and a salad of your choice. The soup was weird, very thick and rather tasteless and not served very hot. The spinach salad was good with a raspberry dressing. The entree was Filet Mignon which was very tender served with mushrooms, veggies and a baked potato.

The odd part of our meal was when we told the server we wanted to share our meal and asked if there was a split plate fee. She said she would charge us three dollars for an empty extra plate and we could split the meal ourselves. That was weird, we dine out alot and have never had that happen. We said no, we would just share our meal without the plate which she brought out anyway. I also ordered a Cosmo which was only filled half way up the glass and served with a lemon, it tasted odd but I didn't say anything. For $12 the drink was way overpriced. When the bill came she said I didn't charge you for the empty plate. I'm thinking ummmm..... that's because we didn't use it and told you not to bring it. On our way out two guys asked us how it was and when I told them what happened, they left. Maybe an off night? I found the server to be kind of grumpy and not very accomodating to the customer. :)

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank syrahgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Trading Post also viewed

 

Been to The Trading Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.