We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente(San Clemente)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$208
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn(San Clemente)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
US$138
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Miramar(San Clemente)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$113
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seahorse Resort(San Clemente)(Great Value!)
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$244/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Casa Tropicana(San Clemente)
US$385
US$373
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Always Inn San Clemente B&B(San Clemente)(Great Value!)
US$196
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Patriots Boutique Motel(San Clemente)(Great Value!)
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nomads Hotel(San Clemente)
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
308
129
33
11
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
129
33
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskstrip mallfree breakfastup to dateplenty of parkingorange countyspanish styleheated poolclean roomsgreat customer servicenice poolbreakfast roomstaff was very friendly and helpfullight sleeperdana pointdefinitely stay here againsarah
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 491 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

During my visit, it was great to have a clean room, nice staff. They are very kind and in any question they help you right away.

I want to thank especially to Sarah who welcomed us to the hotel and gives us lots of information about the city and the hotel. She answered all of our questions and helped us very much. It was very helpful. We were very lucky to have this kind of care.

Thanks to all of others who are really kind.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Ibrahim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ernie251, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente N - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Delighted to read you enjoyed your recent visit. Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. Will share your comments to the team, especially Sarah :)

We hope to see you back soon.
Ernie M.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

It really hurt to pay $179 a night for this mediocre 2-star hotel. There are much nicer hotels for much better value elsewhere in Southern Orange County, so unless you absolutely have to be in San Clemente, I would advise staying away from this overpriced mediocre property. The Holiday Inn a bit north in Lake Forest (which is a "real" Holiday Inn, not an Express) is much nicer and similarly or lower priced.

The room was okay - not horrible, not great. My room looked out on a tall wall, sort of like you sometimes find in New York City where your room looks out on an airshaft. The blackout curtains worked fine. Unfortunately, the room was near the ice machine, which was loud.

The buffet breakfast (included with the room) was the most disgusting breakfast I have ever had in a hotel anywhere. The set up reminded me of a 7-11. In addition to the usual junk carbs -- sweet rolls, cheap cereal -- there were rubbery pre-cooked eggs which appeared to have come from some kind of mix and rubbery just defrosted sausage patties. It was very awkward to take the eggs and sausage as you had to lift a little plastic door with one hand and awkwardly reach in with the other hand to put the slop on your paper plate. All the cutlery is plastic and there were no forks available, so I had to walk into the little storeroom off the breakfast area to get a plastic fork. Of course, only plastic cups for your morning hot beverage.

The breakfast room was also small with dirty tables crammed together and was not sufficiently large enough for the number of people eating there the morning I was there. People kept bumping into me as I made my way around the room. It was difficult to find a table, but eventually I found a cramped dirty one.

There are no nearby restaurants, so if you value what you put in your mouth, just know that you need to jump into your car and drive 15 minutes or so.

The only nice thing that I can say about this hotel is that the parking is easy. You basically drive through an old dilapidated shopping center that looks like it has seen better days and then drive up a long driveway and you have arrived at this charmless property, but on the bright side, you can park right in front of the place.

Oh yes -- unlike other Holiday Inns there is no small snack and convenience store. Only a vending machine with complete sugary junk. If you want a snack other than a candy bar or chips, be sure to stop on your way at a mini-mart.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
Thank AnywhereUSA310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ernie251, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente N - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

We are grateful for your honest feedback and will explore expanding our breakfast selections soon. We believe our room rates are competitive and provide value considering the beach location in the city of San Clemente. All our guest get to enjoy the complimentary breakfast, we also do not charge for parking and provide free WiFi. We encourage to plan ahead so you are able to get the best possible rate when you plan to revisit San Clemente. We have attempted to get in contact with you to further discuss your experience and hope we can hear from you soon.
Safe Travels,
Ernie Montalvo-General Manager
ernie@hiesanclemente.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Sarah at the front desk was extremely courteous, pleasant and helpful. We were always greeted with a smile and she is the reason we stay here on a regular basis. Quality customer service is hard to come by these days but it makes all the difference.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ernie251, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente N - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. Delighted to read you enjoyed your recent visit. Will share your comments to the staff especially Sarah.

Ernie M.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

My family stayed at this clean, comfortable and nicely decorated hotel for a lengthy stay.
The best accommodations for our needs were the 1 bedroom suites which unfortunately are limited. Ideally we would have preferred to stay in just 1 suite our entire stay. This was not possible because other people had reserved the suite for certain days throughout our stay.
But, to our great fortune wonderful Sarah came to our rescue and worked diligently , watching sometimes hourly the reservations on the computer and most often was able to either allow us to stay in our suite or move us to another one on the same floor which made life so much easier for us. Not only is Sarah a super front desk miracle worker at reservations, she always greeted us with a smile and kind words. She is a bright spot at that hotel!

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the 3rd floor facing the town view. 1 bedroom suites are larger than most at similar priced hotels.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jlefevre1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ernie251, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente N - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you for posting your recent visit on Tripadvisor. So wonderful to read you and your family had a pleasant stay. I will share your comments with the team, especially Sarah!
Sincerely,
Ernie M.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Nice clean new facility. One small annoyance which Sarah immediately took care of. She could not have been more responsive. Well worth following through to find this slightly off the path hotel. One time there and you know the way.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ficmjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ernie251, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente N - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear Sarah took care of your needs. I will share your review with the staff and Sarah.

Safe Travels,
Ernie M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews