We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
74
71
42
14
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
71
42
14
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews san francisco bathroom door frame close to the airport great price stayed at this hotel for nights other hotels great room the hotel offers ethnic restaurants per hour shuttle service to the airport decent hotel bart station public transportation bed was very comfortable check in was easy fisherman's wharf
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2016

This hotel is spotless, recently decorated and well-maintained. The location is very interesting, close to San Mateo Avenue and right on El Camino, full of cheap, local independent restaurants with character, not just fast food and chains.
Rooms large, location overall quiet, good shuttle service to the airport, and the staff is friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: probably best to take a room not facing El Camino Real
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrikAsianNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHira, Manager at Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2016

Hello how are you and thank you for choosing to stay with us we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to serve you again in the future have a wonderful day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Nice, clean room. Light personal amenities, no comp. breakfast, but friendly staff.

I've stayed here a dozen times; the very first time, the power went out about 9 pm, and was not restored by checkout. We were given no refund or credit.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimber O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHira, Manager at Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Hello how are you and thank you for being a returning guest we are sorry about the power outage I'm sure it was as inconvenient for you as it was for us. some guest did submit a formal complaint and did receive partial credit. As you can understand this is something that had nothing to do with the hotel about 2 blocks lost power that night because of a blown transformer. We hope this does not turn you away we would love to continue to provide service to you. Thank you and have a wonderful day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

After much TripAdvisor research trying to find least costly place north of San Francisco, we decided to back up and look a little south. Looked at reviews and found this independent hotel. Happy to find it. Clean, large, comfy bed, microwave, refrigerator and wifi. No breakfast, but IHOP nearby. Would return.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHira, Manager at Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Hello how are you and thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having stay with us again in the future have a wonderful day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

Please dont stay here!! They dont know a thing about customer service. Staff at front desk treat you like crap, wont even try to help solve the problem. I asked for an iron, front desk couldnt help. When I arrived the remote control was missing, front desk said before i help you need to look for it behind the furniture, move the bed and look there, and many other examples of bad personnel. In conclusion stay anywhere else even your car!!! Save your money run away from here please.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
4  Thank Omar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHira, Manager at Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

hello how are you i wish to apologize for your experience at out hotel rest assure we have take all measures necessary to avoid this problem ever again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016

good service when arrived and shuttled to airport in AM; upon return arrived SFO late but before MN, which they said was ok for shuttle; spoke to person at desk for shuttle pick up when we arrived before MN, who kept asking where we were departing from-repeatedly telling her we just arrived; giving her actual exit door of terminal we were at; after 25 min called back and she claimed shuttle found no one waiting-entirely false; not overly crowded at that time of nite to see a small jitney etc if says airport shuttle; took cab back to the joint for $20 and 5 min ride...would never book here again.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moishemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnHira, Manager at Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2016

Hello how are first of I wold like to apologize for the inconvenience with the shuttle service . In order to avoid any confusion to all future guest if you need to take the shuttle.
shuttle service times are from 4:00 am to 12:00 am midnight.
pick up at the hotel is once an hour beginning at 4:10 am 5:10 am 6:10 am and so on. until 12:00 pm noon after noon its by request.

Pick up at he airport is only by request.
All guest need to be at the departure level at the hotel shuttle area in the middle island.
The shuttle will not go to any other level. Do not wait for the shuttle on the arrival level or at the doors. the driver will not pick you up. all guest need to be in the correct area or the driver will not see you. If you are not sure where you are in the airport or where u need to go, you can always call us for instructions or you can ask any airport employee for directions to the shuttle area. we understand it can be confusing since there are several shuttle areas so please be sure of where you are so that we know where to send the driver. Thank you and have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews