We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISAPPOINTING - FIRST VISIT MAY BE THE LAST”
Review of Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen - CLOSED

Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hunt St.
Description: Cindy’s Backstreet Kitchen combines a classy supper club with the flair of a speakeasy to create the perfect upscale eatery and neighborhood hang-out. Guests enter the restaurant through the brick patio, which features several tables for alfresco dining, shaded by a 100-year-old fig tree and warmed by the kitchen’s wood-burning oven. Once inside, the lively bar area, with its zinc top, wood floors and cozy banquettes serves up classic and hip cocktails alike, creating the perfect place for a quick lunch, drinks or coffee and dessert after a movie. The downstairs dining room has handmade wooden booths with crisp striped fabric-backed seats next to big windows with lushly planted flower boxes. Floral wallpaper and dark stained hardwood floors add a touch of speakeasy drama, while cozy built-in cabinets display Cindy’s travel artifacts and a selection of her own handmade pottery.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We arrived on time and they had held a table for two near the window but it was also near the stairs where people were going up and down to the restrooms, and also to the kitchen and bar area. The restaurant is relatively small and all the rooms seem a bit crowded, though the noise level was not as bad as it might have been. I almost cancelled the reservation after reading about service problems this year but decided to give it a go anyway since we had never been there before. The host at the front desk made a big production out of the "window" table and the "view" but the only thing seen from the window was the street and parked cars. The waitress was attentive and brought menus etc. We took our time ordering and all was proceeding well when they brought the wine order. Wine by the glass and by the half bottle is expensive and we determined it was cheaper to buy a full bottle even though we did not want a full bottle. Nice wine, everything proceeding as anticipated until the food arrived. I ordered fish and chips which came with a salad and it was well prepared, though I thought a little expensive for one piece of cod and "dutch" fries. My companion had ordered a salad and after looking at it and taking one bite, she determined that they had brought her an ahi tuna salad instead of the quail salad she ordered. The server was apologetic once we flagged her down and said she had "misunderstood the order" which we had a hard time believing. Quail sounds nothing like ahi tuna. She simply was not paying attention, was too rushed or something. Anyway, she said the quail would be right out, but it appeared they had to go out and shoot one and dress it before the salad arrived. I had finished with the fish long before my companion's salad arrived. No offer of a free appetizer or even bread while she waited. The waitress tried to push dessert on us...not sure if she was offering it to compensate for the order screw up, but if so, it was not clearly communicated. There are still a couple of interesting things on the menu that might be worth trying, but we are not in any rush to return at this point.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank martha6262014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (901)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 901 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2018

We had a gift card for this restaurant and it was very easy to make a reservation. We ordered the oysters and they were delicious. I ordered the meatloaf and it was ok. I felt like it was too saucy and fairly bland. I would not eat here again.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Desiraprewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean K, Owner at Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Although we're glad you had a good meal with us, I'm sorry to hear it wasn't the most impressive this time around. We'll keep your feedback in mind about our meatloaf, and we hope you'll give us another shot someday soon.

Until then,
Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

My friend and I shared a light lunch in the charming wine-country restaurant. You enter through a small courtyard with cute umbrella tables for outdoor dining. We ate indoors in a spacious corner booth. The service was impeccable, friendly, unpretentious. My friend and I shared an order of absolutely divine fried polenta with a green aioli sauce; a delicious avocado and papaya salad on arugula, sprinkled with hazelnuts and a tangy dressing; and the special of the day, a light halibut dish cooked to perfection. We skipped the wine, since wine tasting was on the agenda for later in the day. The cost before tip was $71. Lovely experience.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank VickiHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean K, Owner at Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Vicki, thank you for sharing the love for our relaxing outdoor atmosphere and our delicious dishes. It means a lot to hear you felt taken care of with us and enjoyed a perfect meal. We hope this means we'll get to have you back again someday soon.

Until then,
Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Love the food here. The cheese stuffed peppers topped with avocado is amazing! We had a bunch of the salads and the pork tacos. The food is really fresh and lots of flavor. A group favorite!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean K, Owner at Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Lisa, thank you for the shining review of our tasty, fresh food and our great service. We hope to have you back again someday soon for another great meal.

Until then,
Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Perfect location for a pleasant surprise! I had the pollo loco and it was amazing with the avocado and stuffed peppers. The Campfire Pie is a show stopper and downright fun, and tasty!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Mark107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean K, Owner at Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Mark, thank you for sharing the love for our pleasant atmosphere and our delicious food. It means a lot to hear you were a fan of our campfire pie, and we hope to have you back again someday soon. -Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing