We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
62
9
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
9
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lady bird johnson elk meadow washer dryer two nights road trip the kitchen crescent city great place to stay redwood national park cleaning fee nice cabin stock up including laundry brought food long journey power outage no cell phone reception
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

A little disconcerted when we pulled up to our cabin at the side of the road, when we were expecting it to be in the middle of a 27 acre field as described in the booking. However we needn’t have worried, even though it’s on the main highway it was not at all noisy, and looking out of the patio doors, or from the deck the view was of fields and a herd of cows.
The cabin was well equipped, clean comfortable and a great location for visiting the redwoods.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 702catherines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Really liked this cabin. It was perfect for our family. Spacious. But a really good location in the Redwoods. It was close to everything we wanted to do, from all the hikes off the Newton B. Drury Scenic Parkway. It's also real close to the Lady Bird Johnson trail. The accommodations were clean, large and very comfortable. Even the Elk were very close. Very positive experience. Liked it a lot.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

The location of these cozy cabins cannot be beat - right in the heart of Redwood State & National Parks. No cell phone reception at all, but wifi was available for whenever we needed it. Donna was very communicative before our visit and gave us all the information we needed to make our stay more comfortable. The house was even equipped with a clearly-labeled & accessible power outage kit, which came in handy when we lost power for a full day following a pretty severe winter storm in the area that downed at least one local tree. And we even got to watch a couple elk from our window on the morning of our departure!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greymstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

I would give this 10 stars if I could. This place is magic, especially if you're stuck in city life 40 hours a week. Practicalities first... reservations are easy. Just pick your cabin based on the pictures and description, check the dates and reserve it. We stayed in the Johnny Redwood cabin and it was perfect. Clean, maintained, everything in working order. Comfortable beds, big bathrooms, lots of windows to see the beauty around you. Kitchen is fully stocked with everything but food. Grill available for making burgers or steaks and a picnic table out back.

Now the magic... we didn't see elk that evening. But by 7:00 am, theywere pushing through the hedge row out back. They carefully watch you, but go about their business of eating breakfast right from your backyard, rubbing their antlers on wires, cables, trees or whatever, socializing with each other. The large buck positions himself where he can see the front roadway and the back area. He's very attentive. We even caught him teaching one of his sons how to spar with his antlers. The younger elk make high pitched sounds. Make your coffee, go quietly onto your porch and watch these amazing creatures go about their morning. We were transfixed for almost an hour.

At night, bundle up, take your warm drink with you to the picnic table (flashlight too) and star gaze. If the sky is clear, it is lit up like a Christmas tree with the Milky Way and all constellations clearly visible. Sometimes the constellations get lost in the multitude of stars. We used an app on our phone to help us identify.

You will not be sorry that you stayed here. Phone service is spotty which was actually kind of nice. We would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libguppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

I had driven by the Elk Meadow cabins--houses, really--many times over the years on my way to and from camping and hiking in Prairie Creek Redwoods State Park. My friend and I were psyched to stay here for two nights instead of camping during a rainy winter visit. The two-bedroom house was warm, clean, and comfortable and felt like home. The owner told us there was no stove in this unit, so we brought food we could easily heat in the microwave and that was fine. The only reason this is four stars instead of five is because of billing practices.The reservation included a cleaning fee of $65 not listed in the website's rates. At the Beachcomber when we arrived, there was an envelope labeled for tips for the housekeeper which was not reasonable given that I already paid a $65 cleaning fee. Not wanting to stiff the housekeeper, I tossed some cash in the envelope anyway. Except for this billing issue, the place was lovely and the owner has environmentally responsible practices including recycling, documenting elk sightings for scientific tracking, etc.

Room Tip: Terrific place to stay in winter. We were the only guests at the entire property.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rhymetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews