We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A good place to stay while visiting Yosemite”
other travellers have booked this property
Entrance to Caboose
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to Caboose
Caboose with Deck View of Deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Entrance to Caboose
Caboose with Deck
View of Deck
Gotta have a Grill!!!
View from Deck
View from Deck
View from Deck at Sunset
View from Deck at Sunset
View from Property
Loading Dock
End of Caboose
Queen Bed and Living Room
Shower and Jacuzzi Tub
Kitchenette
Bathroom Vanity
Loft
Bathroom Door and Living Room
View from Loft
Loft Ladder
Yosemite Valley
Top of Yosemite Falls
Half Dome in Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Oakhurst, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Jeffrey M
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A good place to stay while visiting Yosemite”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My daughter and I stayed here for a trip into Yosemite . The owners were very friendly and helpful . We enjoyed our accommodations which were unique and very functional for our needs. Oakhurst is a nice little town with good options for food and is an easy drive to the park of 16 miles. Would stay here again if we come back to Yosemite.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The little red caboose is certainly one of a kind. My girlfriend and I felt like the Boxcar Children, just all grown up. The caboose has all the amenities of home, great shower with excellent water pressure, nice big comfortable bed, futon, little loft, small refrigerator with freezer, sink, microwave, coffee maker, toaster oven, griddle and hot plate. We spent our time out on the large deck grilling chicken, fish and veggies, yum!

The location is about a 35 minute drive to the park entrance, very easy to get to and them it's about another hour and fifteen to Yosemitte Visitor Center.

We had some incremental weather with rain and hail and a thunderstorm but felt very safe and dry in the caboose.

Rusty was great and is as friendly as can be. We loved out stay and loved Yosemite and we will be back again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jojojen1
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My sister in law and I took our sons to stay at The Little Red Caboose as a surprise and boy did they love it!
We loved the loft and spa tub! All the necessities one could need included.Quiet and safe area. Very clean and elegant caboose! Rusty and his wife are very friendly and helpful.We will be staying here again! Thank You! :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRB3999
Riverside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

That is what our 6 year old daughter exclaimed upon entering the caboose...."AWESOME!!" And it was! Clean, comfortable, with a jacuzzi tub, huge deck and so much quiet. Ten minutes from Bass Lake and Willow Creek and about an hour from Yosemite (due to 30 MPH speed limits for much of the way, not the distance). The caboose is unique, the setting wonderful, but it is Rusty and his family that made our stay so wonderful and so memorable. We will definitely return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Oetinger Family's hospitality
Liked least: That we cannot go every weekend :)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review. We look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Aug 2013
Thank you Michelle, I only wish we had more time to visit with you and your family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing