We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (657)
Filter reviews
657 results
Traveller rating
320
216
73
25
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
216
73
25
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop garden tudor suite jacuzzi tub wine tasting within walking distance covered parking waffles free breakfast very nice hotel gas fireplace loved this hotel great view nice room location was perfect view of the ocean shops and restaurants two blocks
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 657 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2018

Step back in time with this hotel! Floral patterns abound, carpets worn, windows appear in strange places (such as the bathroom!), the breakfast is pretty average, the wifi is wonky...but main street, shops, restaurants, and the water are all just steps away. Probably incredibly crowded in the summer season. Most rooms on the west side either face the ocean or have a balcony. The "sister" rock is clearly visible.

Room Tip: Rooms tend to be noisy, not just people next door and out front, but seagulls and sea lions too!
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel M, Manager at Ascot Inn at the Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Thank you CW for your review on our hotel. We apologies about the decor and the wifi. We're in the process of changing the hotel around and we value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Samuel M.
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a few days last month, this hotel is lovely, it is tranquil and relaxing, staff are friendly, the rooms are clean, quaint and traditional in their decor, if a little dated, and a tad tired. That said I would definitely stay here again, it is within walking distance of everything, and our stay really was restful.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gerihattrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel M, Guest Relations Manager at Ascot Inn at the Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thanks so much for your review! We are happy you liked our location and found it relaxing.
We have many updates for the property that will be taking place so we hope to see you again!
Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

Very disappointing experience. After using my credit card to book a room and not using it ANYWHERE else, I suddenly had several fraudulent charges on my card. Huge headache to deal with, and not even a reply from the management when I e-mail to ask about this. Complete lack of professional courtesy. Morro Bay itself was great, but I would never stay at the Ascot Inn again.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel M, Admin at Ascot Inn at the Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Thank you for your candid review Mark V. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations and we apologize about the disappointing experience you had with the lack of courtesy. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Sincerely,
Samuel M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

This is a place in need of much repair and attention. The location is good the view from west facing balcony is good. Breakfast is decent. The outside and lobby are at least pleasant to the eye, but there are several issues with the condition of the room we had. There was a 15" x 15" plus sized rip in the balcony screen door; the hot water faucet spun 180 degrees to shut off; the molding around the tub was cracked and peeling away from the tub; the bath mat was actually a bath towel ripped in half; the coffee pot had an on and off button, but the off didn't work...had to unplug to not cause a fire; there were 6 windows in the hall to our room, each with ripped cafe curtains through sun damage; trash in hallway not removed for 3 of the 4 days we were there.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karent358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel M, Manager at Ascot Inn at the Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Samuel M
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

I love the location of this place, we stay here whenever we're passing through. Lately, though it's starting to show it's age. The rooms could use some updates and internet access is poor. Breakfast is just okay, but when we asked that the lights be turned on in the breakfast area, they said there wasn't electricity. They brought in a desk lamp and that helped, but they could also use some fresh fruit (other than apples) even a banana would help.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel M, Manager at Ascot Inn at the Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel Vicki T. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us but we do apologize for the internet speed and lack of fresh fruit during breakfast . We value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

Samuel M
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews