We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
108
174
103
30
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
174
103
30
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night friendly manager room was clean nice view stay there again small fridge coffee maker short walk main street los angeles road trip shops and restaurants sea lions motel embarcadero rock cereal
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 430 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2018

We had just journeyed down Hwy 1 and needed to stay but one night. Others in our group went on to stay in San Luis Obispo, but Morro Bay by the ocean was 58 degrees with fog and SLO was 89. Easy decision. We have stayed in a number of motels between Cambria and Morro Bay. We have even stayed at the Sandpiper a decade or so ago, so we knew the motel lacked ocean front views (as do most) but with the fog, so what.

We were pleasantly surprised by nearly everything. Beginning with an amiable, helpful reception by the manager. The motel has been upgraded inside and outside. Room 1 was clean, the bed perfect and the amenities sufficient.

Morro Bay is a beautiful place to visit with plenty of shops and restaurants beginning within a 3 block walk from the Inn. We ate dinner at the Dutchman and breakfast at Kitty's downtown. Chosen for practicality and value, we will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JCLong46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

We booked this Inn for one night. Ok and no reason for customer complaints. Very good location in Morro Bay near "the Rock of Morro Bay" and near Restaurants in Harbor. And the turquoise Color in our room was funny and Pretty No Breakfast but for us no matter.

Room tip: We had one upstairs it was ok.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Genusshexe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

Friendly welcome, clean room with decent amenities and the motel is minutes from the beach and Embarcadero with lots of shops and restaurants to choose from. Parking was free and the proprietor kindly let us leave car for a few hours post check out. Given the price would highly recommend, great value for money.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 599vickyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

This is a wonderful place to stay! the staff are totally awesome,helpful & cheerful.
the location is perfect- close enough to walk to everything in Morro Bay , and the Morro Bay trolley will stop at the curb in front of the Sandpiper (weekends in the summer) if you hold your arm up, like hailing a taxi.
My room was tastefully decorated in a soothing seaside theme, the queen size bed was just right, with fluffy pillows,soft sheets and cozy blanket, TV, microwave & refrig and to the convenience. The windows can open to the sea breeze but are secure-
The towels are thick & thirsty,the soap, shampoo,etc are very nice- there is even a list of amenities that are available at no charge in case you have forgotten a travel necessity.
the Sandpiper is pet friendly, and ADA compliant
I truly enjoyed my week long stay

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 365traveler300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

We were there for a single night, and were very happy with the property. It was clean and comfortable. Didn't notice any A/C though. Must have missed it I guess, but didn't need it anyway. We would stay there again for sure.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews