We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
9
30
10
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
30
10
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee potsmall refrigeratorroom was cleanwalking distance to everythingwater frontone nightnice viewsecond floorwifiembarcaderoblockbaymoteldesk
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017

We were pleasantly surprised upon arrival to the Bay View Inn on 10/20/17 as to how well-maintained and clean this motel is. The owners were extremely professional, friendly and very accommodating from the moment we met them until the time we checked out two days later. Our room was an ocean-front King that was very clean and appeared to have been recently remodeled. The WiFI in smaller Inns and Motels can be sketchy but the Bay View Inn got it right, the WiFi was great with no latency. I noticed that they had installed WiFi boosters on the second floor which is where our room was so the connectivity was flawless. Even though the motel appeared to have been sold out, we had no problems parking in their very well-maintained lot. The Bay View Inn is very close to restaurants, bars and The Embarcadero with many shops and places to people watch. We will definitely be staying at The Bay View Inn on our next trip to Morro Bay.

Room Tip: Great location and quiet property! Ocean front rooms are worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank J Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Bay View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Dear J Scott W,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey and for rating our Bay View Inn hotel so highly! I am so glad that you found our hotel to be clean and convenient and that you enjoyed the five star accommodations and hospitality that we strive to show to each guest, during every stay. We would love to have you back and we do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We booked here on spec after arriving in Morro Bay whilst travelling round California. The lady at the desk offered to show us a room before we confirmed the booking. It was a very large room on the upper floor with an enormous bed, lots of room to spread out our things and a fabulous view out to the waterfront. It was very clean, all amenities we needed (coffee, microwave, fridge) bathroom was nice and housekeeping was good. It has a great location just a short stroll from shops, restaurants, bars as well as the harbour, beaches, wildlife and the rock. After staying in an awful place the night before this was a welcome change. We loved the little town and the motel so much we stayed for 3 nights as it was also a great base for the surrounding area inc Hearst Castle and the coastal drive. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Bay View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Tim S,

Thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with our services and amenities of Bay View Inn Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, our high standards of housekeeping and our friendly and welcoming staff. We only wish to give nothing but the best service to our guests, and to know that we have accomplished such goal gives us great joy. Thank you for your recommendation, and we certainly hope that we can be of service to you and your family again on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We had high hopes for this place based on the reviews here, however, we ended up being fairly grossed out with our room.
#1 - we had a corner room (107) with no windows facing the parking lot. In fact, our window on the backside of the building faced a wall about two feet away. Kept the curtains closed - it was weird and cave like.
#2 - the curtains had mold and mildew dotting them, as well as something that had been spilled down them from about waste high.
#3 - the curtain in the shower was covered in mold and mildew.
#4 - the bathroom had tiny gnats/flies all over the tiny window.
Those were the top four cons.

It was obvious the room had been upgraded recently - paint, carpet, bedding (oh wait - some of the smaller-than-usual pillows had stains on them!), granite counters and shower enclosure - however, if they continue with the poor maintenance and cleaning it's not going to last. The room was missing night stands, no clock, and had only two outlets. One outlet was loose from the wall and to turn on and off the lamp you had to unplug it. The other outlet had a surge-protector with multiple items running to it willy-nilly - i.e., loose cords.
We would NOT stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Called in on off chance. Don't be put off by the exterior. Good size room. Clean and comfy. Good WiFi, Fridge coffee pot and TV. Close to the water front. Lots of wildlife to see. Friendly local community. Would recommend.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank bunkerbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Bay View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Dear bunkerbaby,

Thank you for your high rating of our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience! We are so glad to hear from you and to learn that we were able to give you a pleasant, comfortable and convenient experience. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay and that you are strongly recommend us for other travelers. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next stay in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

We were a little apprehensive when we saw the outside of the property-- very dated and painted a garish color that my husband called "Tijuana teal".
But the room was very clean and spacious, and the bathroom verged on very luxurious-- granite counter and shower stall, and nice, heavy glass shower door.
Some negatives-- the clubs nearby were noisy until 11:30 pm, and the breakfast was very minimal.
But for the price, it was a great deal and a very pleasant stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SueR2489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Bay View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Sue R,

Thank you for completing our guest satisfaction survey and sharing your experience. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the comfort issues and noise concerns you experienced. I hope that this will not deter you from enjoying our accommodations and services in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews