We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 470)
Filter reviews
1 470 results
Traveller rating
502
592
266
81
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
502
592
266
81
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location valet parking elite room cannery row platinum member bay view fisherman's wharf nice hotel breakfast buffet free trolley short walk convention center two blocks sink area within walking distance street parking valet staff
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 1 470 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Stayed here in the past, it's not bad just not great considering the cost, albeit I stayed on points but it was a Category 8 hotel. My beef is more with the service, staff is unhelpful and wasn't overly friendly. The room was large but a little rough around the edges, They had a chair and table but you couldn't sit in the chair because it was lodges between the wall and the bed. Some cosmetic issues such as peeling wall paper and paint. They billed it as a city view, was actually a pool view with a view of apartments or condos. Not great for families either, my daughter had not desire to swim in the pool which was 3' deep across the entire pool and very old school, as was the spa. As a Marriott guy, nearing lifetime Platinum, I will definitely be trying out the Residence Inn in Seaside next time!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Dean W, thank you for being such a loyal Platinum member and for sharing your experience with us. We are truly sorry your stay was not the positive experience you deserve and have been accustom to receiving. We never want a guest to leave with a negative opinion, and if you did reach out to us and your concerns fell on deaf ears, we are truly disappointed and sorry. We hope you will reconsider giving us another chance to provide you with the hospitality and accommodations you deserve every time you choose to stay at a Marriott hotel. Thanks again for being our guest and safe travels home.

Sincerely,
Blanca Erben
Senior Rooms Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Stayed here for a couple of nights while visiting the area. Rooms were clean and pleasant but rather dated. The hotel is a short walk from the wharf area with plenty of restaurants and bars. Breakfast in the hotel was buffet style with a good selection of hot and cold food. The staff were friendly and helpful. Join Marriott Rewards to get free WiFi otherwise there is a daily charge.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluebird224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear bluebird224,

Thank you for being our guest at the Monterey Marriott and for sharing your review. We are happy to know you had a nice stay with us and liked our clean & comfortable rooms, convenient location, and friendly staff. We are also pleased to know how much you enjoyed our delicious breakfast offerings. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Blanca Erben
Senior Rooms Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights to attend an event at the Laguna Seca raceway. It’s a great location, as it’s less than a 20 minute drive to the raceway and a 20 minute walk to Cannery Row. The lobby is very nice. They were able to accommodate me for an early 12 noon check-in, and that was much appreciated. All the staff that we encountered were extremely friendly. I just wish the rooms weren’t so dated and tired. I probably would not return unless the rooms are remodeled.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BearTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear BearTS, we love that the Monterey Marriott was perfect for your travel needs and that overall you enjoyed your visit. Our prime location downtown means that our guests can easily walk to all of downtown Monterey's prime attractions, shops, and restaurants, including Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf and the Aquarium. We hope you had a great time at the raceway and please reconsider a return stay. Our friendly team will do all they can to make sure you have the comfortable quality experience you deserve.

Sincerely,
Blanca Erben
Senior Rooms Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times. It has been my favorite hotel in Monterey but even though the staff are outstanding I can no longer recommend it. First we had to change rooms because they put us in a room with two double beds that were hard as rocks. Then the new room faced the street and was very noisy I believe that the windows have not been upgraded. People were noisy until after 2 AM. Also most rooms do not have bathtubs anymore. As a gold member we received the free breakfast but it also did not seem as good as in the past.

Room tip: Choose a room away from pool and front of hotel
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank majorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear majorg, thank you for always making us your home away from home and for the valued feedback. We love our Gold members and so sorry this particular visit did not go so well. We never want to disappoint a guest an it seems we just couldn't get it right and for that we are sorry. Due to pleasant past experiences, we hope this one stay will not keep you from returning. This was just an off day for us and we promise to make it up to you. Thank you and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Blanca Erben
Senior Rooms Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

We stayed 2 nights to explore the area. Check-in was great - I think the person who helped us was named Isabella and she went above and beyond. Location is excellent and the food at the hotel was great. Everything seemed very clean. This is a really nice property. The pool was nice.

We missed having USB ports for chargers and the beds weren't too comfortable. We parked in a garage nearby which was a hassle but we didn't want to use valet since we were in and out so much.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Manager at Monterey Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Jenny W,

Thank you for choosing the Monterey Marriott during your visit to our city. We appreciate you sharing how much you enjoyed your stay, particularly our great location and courteous service. Also, I have shared your comments in regard to our beds with the Engineering team to introspect. We hope to welcome you again whenever you are back here.

Blanca Erben
Senior Rooms Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews