We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Munras Inn(Monterey)
US$310
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pacific(Monterey)
US$360
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Stage Coach Lodge(Monterey)(Great Value!)
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monterey Bay Lodge(Monterey)(Great Value!)
US$317
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$232
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Abrego(Monterey)
US$440
US$426
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$423
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$242
US$233
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2 745)
Filter reviews
2 745 results
Traveller rating
1 269
850
361
180
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 269
850
361
180
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrew pubjack's restaurantfisherman's wharfwarm cookiescannery rowchocolate chip cookiesceiling fanbreakfast buffetconvention centerself parkingwithin walking distanceper dayupon checkbeautiful hotelbike pathmonterey baysea lions
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 2 745 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I enjoyed my stay at the Portola resort. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The resort is in walking distance to many great restaurants and things to do. The comfy bed was delightful. I would definitely stay there again when visiting Monterey.

Room Tip: Get a ro ok m facing the marina.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chitose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We are visiting during a busy easter weekend and the staff seems ill prepared for it. The lines at the front desk were 15-20 min long every time we looked. The concierge literally saw us at his desk waiting to talk to him and then left to go on break- there were others in line who said they had come twice that day only to find the concierge similarly on break. When we finally talked to him after his break, he just googled for our question which we could have done ourselves. We were checked into a dirty room by someone who didn't offer us a hotel map or even to tell us where our room was- and regardless our keys didn't work properly and we had to go back to the desk and wait in line again to get new ones; the pool didn't have towels and despite multiple requests to replenish them, over the course of an hour, no one came. That said, the hotel does have lovely amenities and would be a good conference style hotel; it is also nicely located in monterey with restaurants nearby and a 1 mile walk to many attractions. Perhaps on a less busy weekend they would be better equipped to handle it? (Although you'd think they would add some extra staff when the hotel is nearly full?)

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 242alissah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Lots of hotels offer treats when you check in but were you ever offered a WARM chocolate chip cookie. The design and ambience of this place is simply stunning. After check in you are very tempted to just drop your bags and head to the open style restaurant right there and have a well crafted drink to unwind. The room was well appointed and very quiet. You are mere blocks from the wharf and are at the epicentre of many walking tours and activities. We will be back.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Al K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortolaHotelSpa, General Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hi Al K,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Portola Hotel on TripAdvisor. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay along with the newly renovated lobby and restaurant, Jacks Monterey. We agree the hotel is in a perfect location to walk to several of Monterey's local attractions including Fisherman's Wharf. We were happy to hear that you also enjoyed the warm chocolate chip cookie upon check-in, they are a guest favorite!

We hope to welcome you back to Portola Hotel & Spa soon!

Sincerely,
Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We have been on many trips but the trip to the Portola hotel has been the best experience ever. We were helped by Stephanie at the front desk and the valet service was amazing. We were going to stay only 2 nights but because it was such a great hotel and the staff was so great we are staying longer. Thanks sooo much. We will be back.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank robertdc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortolaHotelSpa, General Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hi robertdc1,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We were glad to hear that you had the best experience here at the Portola Hotel. We were also happy to hear that Stephanie was able to add to your overall stay, and we will be sure to share your review with her!

We hope to welcome you back to Monterey soon!

Sincerely,
Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

I am from the east coast and stayed here for a weekend for a family wedding. We absolutely loved our stay. The hotel is beautiful, the staff is great and the location is perfect. There are several cute shops and activities to do around the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews