We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 741)
Filter reviews
2 741 results
Traveller rating
1 411
914
284
87
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 411
914
284
87
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building cannery row nice hotel fisherman's wharf gas fireplace downtown monterey within walking distance lovely room pool and hot tub would definitely stay here again mile drive flat screen tv big sur hotel restaurant pebble beach road trip ernie
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 2 741 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

The Abrego is easily reached off Route 1 and is very convenient for most tourist amenities in Monterey. It has free parking and, of course, WiFi.
The hotel is about 10-15 minutes walk to Fisherman’s Wharf and slightly longer to Cannery Row.
We were in the main block and our room was of adequate size. The bathroom was a good size, but a bit tired and in need of routine maintenance; for instance, the sink plug did not work properly and to maintain a usable level of water in the sink, the faucets had to be continually turned on.
The hotel boasts good amenities and we agreed with their claims. However, the hotel bar is next to reception and is small. It also closed at 21:30, although the night receptionist did serve us after this time. The area also doubles up as the hotel restaurant and based on its size, compared to the hotel, it does not expect many residents to eat there.
Overall, the hotel is good value and worth using if you visit Monterey.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TrevorCrichton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear TrevorCrichton,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give us your feedback about your recent stay. This information is very valuable to us and we appreciate this very much.

We will be sure to take care of the issue in the guests room immediately and apologize we did not have these issue taken care of prior to your stay.

I am pleased to hear our Guest Service Agent was able to assist you with drinks after the bartender left. We are a very small operations, but are always here to serve you and our other guests. We strive to give the best service possible to our guests.

May your life be filled with true happiness always,
Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

best deal in Monterey, used the NCGA discount and great value, great spa and room conditions and amenities. great location and can walk to the wharf. second time I've stayed there and will use again!
booked four rooms for 8 guys and everyone loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Climber39273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Friend,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this great review.,

We are so please to know your group and you were so pleased with your stay at Hotel Abrego. We truly look forward in welcoming you all back to stay with us, on your next golf outing in Monterey.

Best always,
Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We have stayed here many times. Great location for touring sights and close restaurants. A short distance to Del Monte shopping center which is great to shop with many good restaurants within center. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are comfortable rooms and the hotel serves a very good breakfast.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Richard C.

Welcome back once again, and thank you for your very nice review of Hotel Abrego.

We are glad to hear our staff was very welcoming and pleasant to you once again. Plus the rooms are comfortable and you once again enjoyed our breakfast offering in the restaurant.

We look forward in welcoming you back again and please let us know if we can do anything to make your time here more memorable.

May you life be filled with happiness always,

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

This is a great hotel with a Spanish theme ambiance. it's location is convenient for a walk to downtown Monterey or to the local college and Naval Postgraduate School. The entire staff is friendly, courteous and engaging. They go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The small dining room is welcoming, a good place for dinner or having a drink from the bar. Our dinner selection was delicious, and the staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the food selection -- he made excellent recommendations. Our room was spacious and well maintained. Two things in the room that made it enjoyable -- a working gas fireplace and a large walk-in shower that was outstanding. This is a great hotel we'll use on our next visit to Monterey.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank steve o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear steve o,

Thank you so much for staying with us and your feedback of your recent stay means so much to all of us. It appears we met or exceeded your expectations and this is so good to hear.

Your comments about our dedicated staff is so great, since they do work so hard in assuring our guests like you are given the highest level of service in a friendly environment.

I'm glad you enjoyed your room with the fireplace and the large walk in shower, to relax under.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back and please let us know if you can do anything more to make your next trip more memorable.

Happiness to you always,
Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Room was fine with good facilities and very clean. The only issue we had is that we were in a building away from the main building which felt a little isolated it was also quite small. Overall though we were pleased.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Wilse01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, General Manager at Hotel Abrego, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Wilse01,

Thank you for staying with us and your feedback is so important to us.

We do have a variety of different size rooms and sorry your room was not more spacious. We are pleased overall you were pleased and we do hope to welcome you back soon, if your travel plans bring you back to Monterey.

Enjoy life fully,

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews