We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the 17 mile drive!”
Review of 17-Mile Drive

17-Mile Drive
Book In Advance
More Info
US$99,00*
and up
Monterey Bay and Carmel-by-the-Sea Day Tour from...
Ranked #5 of 76 things to do in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Seals bask on the beach and pelicans perch on rocky cliffs along this famous drive that passes through many popular spots.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Have always loved the 17 mile drive! Absolutely beautiful! Map is great and has info about all stops! Easy access!

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank EC5402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8 298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"pebble beach"
in 1 116 reviews
"lone cypress"
in 416 reviews
"golf course"
in 398 reviews
"take pictures"
in 240 reviews
"big sur"
in 290 reviews
"other half"
in 71 reviews
"points of interest"
in 99 reviews
"cypress trees"
in 77 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 198 reviews
"take your time"
in 183 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 154 reviews
"carmel by the sea"
in 82 reviews
"sunny day"
in 67 reviews
"california coast"
in 66 reviews
"sea lions"
in 196 reviews
"courses"
in 779 reviews
"homes"
in 714 reviews
Filter

374 - 378 of 8 299 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Was not going to leave the area of Monterrey or Carmel without seeing Pebble Beach Golf Club,so to that we had to take in 17 Mile Drive,stunning views of the coastline surrounded by golf resorts and mansions,that’s about it!!
Pebble Beach was fabulous though if golf your thing.We had brunch overlooking the first tee which was great but at 525 dollars to play round,bunch was all we did there.
Must say we did find it hard to get off 17–Mile Drive,couldn’t find the exit to the highway

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Hands down the best drive in a short amount of time with hidden hot spot views with picnic area Sight seeing, beach time,golfing and above all relaxing.
My favorite stop is Lone Cypress.

Beware of the cold- always cold so bring a jacket..
I recommend getting through it early or sunset and best entrance is through Pacific Grove and Sunset.

It come with a 10 cash only fee. The gate fee is reimbursed with a purchase of $35 or more at all Pebble Beach Resorts restaurants, excluding Pebble Beach Market. Admission is complimentary for overnight guests of The Lodge at Pebble Beach, The Inn at Spanish Bay and Casa Palmero.

Date of experience: June 2018
2  Thank ssmk0914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Yes, that is how long its been since last traveling this gorgeous 17 mile route. Nature has not changed , but the development by the Pebble Beach crowd certainly has. Glad I was able to see it back then. Not that the homes aren't beautiful, they are. Somehow I long for the days that man didn't leave so much of his trail behind.
NOTE: The $10.25 park admission fee can be applied for full refund or applied toward your restaurant tab at the Lodge, Pebble Beach. Guard at gate didn't tell us that (he wasn't very friendly either), so we lost out on that rebate especially when our lunch tab at the Bench restaurant with tip was $85. Plan to take at least an hour for full circuit. 2 hrs is better. Boutique shops at Pebble Beach golf course with parking across the street. I think I spied a sandwich shop so you don't have to fork over $85 for lunch (the hamburger was $21 alone and not worth it.)

Date of experience: June 2018
4  Thank Studio69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Done this before and can't get enough. Follow along the Pebble Beach route and see some fantastic views

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank ski4me45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 17-Mile Drive also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to 17-Mile Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing