We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and knowledgeable ”

Monterey Bay Whale Watch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 84 Fisherman's Wharf #1
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Would recommend this business. Joe was very knowledgeable accommodating and super friendly. He made you feel like you weren’t a nuisance and he truly loved his job. Juan was also a big help and friendly. Wish I would of seen more whales and they were more active but you can’t predict wild life.

Thank MeepMeep114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B, Manager at Monterey Bay Whale Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a generous review of our tour. We are overjoyed to know that you were treated well by your guides and we hope you may come back again when the Whales are hopefully a bit more friendly. We wish you all the best, take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sea sickness"
in 86 reviews
"humpback whales"
in 187 reviews
"blue whale"
in 73 reviews
"marine biologist"
in 78 reviews
"hour trip"
in 69 reviews
"killer whales"
in 64 reviews
"sea wolf ii"
in 21 reviews
"whale watch"
in 63 reviews
"great trip"
in 55 reviews
"wrap up warm"
in 17 reviews
"tail slapping"
in 10 reviews
"sun fish"
in 30 reviews
"these guys"
in 27 reviews
"motion sickness pills"
in 11 reviews
"larger boat"
in 11 reviews
"sea birds"
in 37 reviews
"hump backs"
in 11 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 1 071 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My trip started by chatting to the two lovely ladies on the front desk, as I was keen to know which, out of the abundance of companies and trips on offer, I should pick. They knowledgeably, honestly, and unbiasedly talked me through the options, as well as the pros and cons of the other tour companies around.

The whale watching trip itself was magical. We were out for 3.5 hours. We saw a number of hump back whales, including a mother and it's offspring, and even saw a couple of 'breaches'. The boat was, at one point, surrounded by Rissos too, which, again, was wonderful. The guide on board the boat was very knowledgeable, approachable,and very willing to answer any questions, as well as being a pretty good laugh. I'd suggest wearing warm clothing as it can get pretty nippy!

All in all a truly excellent experience with a great company, and I would wholeheartedly recommend them!

Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B, Owner at Monterey Bay Whale Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Jonathan, we're glad you had such a great time with us! It was a pleasure talking to you, and you review and generous recommendation are truly appreciated. We hope you'll join us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

nice little place there is a marina and a large pier. There are gift shops and places to get a drink on the pier an area at the end where you could look out to sea only stopped here for about half an hour on a coach trip

1  Thank helensims61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B, Manager at Monterey Bay Whale Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for touring with us, Helen! We're glad to see that you had a pleasant trip, and we wish you safe travels. Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had such a good time on this trip! My boyfriend and I went out on the 4 hour trip and we had a great time seeing the humpback whales, sea lions, otters, dolphins and so much more. The staff was very friendly. The naturalist on our trip, Colleen, was extremely knowledgeable. I feel like we got so much out of the trip because Colleen was able to point out where the animals were and give out interesting facts about them. Would HIGHLY recommend Monterey Bay Whale Watch to anyone looking to spot some cool creatures.

1  Thank shawnapol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B, Owner at Monterey Bay Whale Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're so happy to hear you had such a great time with us! We're happy to hear how much you enjoyed Colleen's tour and we'll be sure to share your regards. Thank you for recommending us to others and we hope you have a nice rest of your vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

When we visit the area we always save two days to go out to see the whales with this company. We have gone whale watching in many places of the world and find their naturalists to be top notch. We have never had a bad trip with them. They are very professional and knowledgeable as well as friendly. Definitely choose them for an amazing trip!

Thank Sherri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B, Owner at Monterey Bay Whale Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Sherri, thank you for your continued support! Your review and recommendation are sincerely appreciated, and we look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monterey Bay Whale Watch also viewed

 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Monterey Bay Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing