We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Marshall, Marin County, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
The Holy...
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 27 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We were so blessed to be able to stay at the historic, beautiful and unmatched Straus Home Ranch. It was luxury and simplicity at its finest. We felt as if we were transported back in time, with all of the current luxuries. With Tomales Bay and a private beach, along with all of the family history, it was truly heavenly

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2016
Alex, it was great to have you and your family at the farm. Thanks for "stopping by."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kheller07
Albany, California
1 review
“Beautiful Stay on Tomales Bay”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We spent a fantastic evening and couple of days here. The location is beautiful! Rolling green hills sweeping down to the beach. The gorgeous bay and an incredible sunset. The house itself is one-of-a-kind. It's 150 years old! But it feels new - fully modern kitchen, dining room with a long wooden table just made for big meals and celebrations with friends, spacious living room with views of the water (and a grand piano!) and a cozy den with big tv for movies in the evening. The bedrooms are nicely decorated and every bed tempts you with bountiful pillows, comforters and blankets. I can't imagine a better place to spend quiet (or lively!) time with friends and family. Great hiking and food are nearby as well, and the hosts (siblings Michael and Vivian) are very friendly, attentive and know the area like, well, like they grew up here! Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
Great to host you and your family ... come on back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lani L
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Perfect location for an intimate wedding”
Reviewed 31 December 2015 for a stay in September 2015

By some miracle, while looking for a venue for our small wedding in San Francisco and Napa areas, not really knowing what I was looking for, I stumbled upon the Straus Home Ranch website and fell in love. After an email exchange with the owners, Michael and Vivien, I was left with such a great, positive feeling about both the location and them that I booked the house sight unseen. I'm from the Bay Area but live abroad so planning the wedding should have been a huge headache... but Michael and Vivien had great recommendations and were such a help, that I don't think it could have gone more smoothly. Not only that but after arriving to CA and going out to see the house and it's amazing location it was exactly as pictured, well even better really. We received so many compliments from our guests about what a beautiful, fun wedding it was. I'm so so happy that it all worked out and feel really lucky to have found this gem. Michael and Vivien are awesome and friendly and beyond helpful. And the house itself was so warm and cozy. We were all a bit sad to leave, but looking forward to going back at some point in the future! If you are looking for a truly special place for any kind of celebration, or just a relaxing escape, this is it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2015
From the very first email exchange, we all knew that it was a great fit! It was such a pleasure meeting you and Eilon, and sharing the ranch with you and your crew!! Thanks for the kind words, and looking forward to our paths crossing again! Much love, Michael, Vivien and Miriam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelstr...
NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Magic in Tomales Bay”
Reviewed 14 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

The Straus Ranch Home was the ideal setting for a small celebration/retreat like weekend for our ladies getaway. Everything about our experience was comfortable, beautiful and unique... From the initial communications w/ Michael and Viven (prompt and kind) to the personal touches of the a hand-written card from Vivien Straus upon arrival to the well stocked kitchen in and modern conveniences, to the luxurious linens and bedding, and the overall heart and thoughtfulness that has been put into the home... Not to mention the cows and beautiful scenes of nature from every window! You can feel the history and heart of this place ~ It's remarkable. Vivien's tour of the surrounding property was the buttercream icing on the cake! We loved learning more about the history of property and the instrumental role the Straus family has played in preserving the integrity and wilderness of west Marin. We'll be back! I would give 100 stars if I could... BEAUTIFUL!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2015
Thank you for the kind words, Rachel ... it was a real pleasure to host you and your friends!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew J
1 review
“Couldn't Ask For More”
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

In the search for our wedding venue, the beautiful Straus Home Ranch immediately caught our attention. After touring the gorgeous grounds with the kind and accommodating Vivien and Michael, we felt an immediate kinship to them and were completely taken by the magical setting of their Ranch. We knew without a doubt that this was the place for us. When the day came for our intimate gathering of family and friends, the beautiful surroundings proved to be the perfect place to celebrate our special day. Vivien and Michael were genuinely happy to help and be available for any questions or concerns that arose throughout the weekend. Our guests couldn't stop talking about what a perfect event it was. From the towering eucalyptus trees, the charming interior decor, the bay-front beach--we had a wealth of incredible places to spend our weekend. We can't imagine having our wedding anywhere else, and could not recommend this property more highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2015
We loved having you! What a great couple of people we met and we're thrilled you could tie the knot at our place. May your life together be stupendous. Come back and visit anytime! Vivien, Michael, and Miriam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing