We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 623)
Filter reviews
2 623 results
Traveller rating
1 649
591
214
92
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 649
591
214
92
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cabana room bre smith spare room library bar tropicana bar director of guest relations public kitchen pool parties marilyn monroe chinese theatre film festival pool area runyon canyon king suite our honeymoon amazing hotel an upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 2 623 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I celebrated our 6 year anniversary/Valentine's Day at the Hollywood Roosevelt.
I had read about the hotel history, which is plentiful, and very much looked forward to our stay.
From the moment we pulled into the Valet with a warm friendly greeting, got a room upgrade by Beth at check-in (she was awesome, our room overlooked the pool and Marilyn Monroe's former apt) to the accomodating bellboy, Matt, who gave us a personal tour of the hotel including a visit to the Blossom Room where the first Academy Awards were held in 1929. We also got extremely lucky because the Gable & Lumbard penthouse suite was available to tour and gave us access to the rooftop with the famous hotel sign and incredible view of Hollywood.
The restaurant had delicious food, the bars were unique and cozy.
Our time spent at the hotel exceeded or expectations... We will definitely be back and I have posted a gazillion awesome pictures on Facebook and Instagram.
Thank you HR!!!!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TeriWatson03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-247, General Manager at The Hollywood Roosevelt, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello TeriWatson03,

Your account of your lovely stay has made our morning! Thank you for joining us here in Hollywood, where we were delighted to share our history with you. We're glad you were able to tour the famous Gable & Lumbard penthouse to get the ideal views you describe, and that we could situate you and your boyfriend in such an iconic room by our Tropicana pool. On behalf of our entire team, we hope to host you again in the coming years...perhaps becoming an anniversary tradition!

Warmly,
Don Jacinto, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2019

Stayed for a work event we held here during GRAMMY's weekend and had a great room and good service.
It's a classic Hollywood location with an interesting and glamorous history but the rooms have been recently updated to be fresh, modern but fitting for a classic building.
Bathroom was very small but room was light and bright on the 11th floor with windows on two sides.

Room tip: The location is pretty active and touristy so its a little louder than normal in my experience
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GJ_GlobalTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-247, General Manager at The Hollywood Roosevelt, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello GJ_GlobalTravel,

Thank you for leaving us with your generous review! As you discovered, we take pride in weaving our Hollywood history with contemporary touches and modern amenities here at the Hollywood Roosevelt, and we're glad you settled in so comfortably for your stay. We hope you'll make yourself at home with us again!

Best regards,
Don Jacinto, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2019

Have to stay at least one night, just because of the history, if you like old Hollywood folklore and legends. The architecture, lobby, bars and restaurants are great! Rooms leave a bit to be desired. Best burger in LA, bowling alley in the Mezzanine bar. Staff a bit snobby. I guess they're all wanna be actors. I did meet two B list actors during my stay. Again, have to do it, just to say yo did it.

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-247, General Manager at The Hollywood Roosevelt, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2019

Dear Frank B,

Thank you for joining us here in LA and enjoying our slice of iconic Hollywood history! As you noted, our property is steeped in Tinseltown lore, and we're always eager to share our knowledge of our past! We're glad you found time to enjoy a burger at 25 Degrees and hope you took a dip in our famous Tropicana pool as well. We hope to welcome you back!

Best regards,
Don Jacinto, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2019

I rented a suite in hopes of providing a place to hangout for the group I was with. Upon arriving I noticed the hotel room seemed off, the paintings on the walls were really weird, it wasn’t art, it was some kind of trash they hung on the walls.

The windows wouldn’t close all the way which meant that all the noise from the traffic woke me up all night long. The lights from the buildings outside were also an issue because the blackout shades wouldn’t close and on top of all that I could hear whenever anyone was talking in the rooms next door.

The room itself seemed as though they reduced the size of the doorways, windows, bed and chairs by 20%, everything was just small, it felt rather clostiphobic to be in the room. On top of all that, our keys constantly needed to be reprogrammed, the elevator would only work about half the time. We were stuck in the elevator for about 10 mins until someone else came along and requested the elevator at one point. Personally I will never be staying at this hotel ever again.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler47384332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-247, General Manager at The Hollywood Roosevelt, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2019

Hello Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your impressions. We're sorry to note that our historic ambiance didn't fit your aesthetic and that you had a hard time settling in with us. We are a unique property, but we hope for the chance to better impress should you find yourself in Hollywood again, as we strive to show every guest our brand of hospitality.

Kindly,
Don Jacinto, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2019

I do believe I screamed and jumped a bit when we opened the door to our room and could see Graumans and the Hollywood sign from the window. We were on our honeymoon and felt like we were treated like royalty (or this being Hollywood, celebrities). All the staff was so lovely, special shout out to the ladies at Tropicana- really genuine and helpful. Loved the pool and definitely want to come back when it's warmer. Not the cheapest, but felt we definitely got value for money. The only slightly annoying thing was that there were constant events in the lobby (but it's kind of what we signed up for, in fact some people might love it). The location, room, everything was otherwise perfect. Wanted to stay forever, and if we can we will come back.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank P0cket_Knife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-247, General Manager at The Hollywood Roosevelt, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2019

Dear P0cket_Knife,

It was our honor to host you during your honeymoon and we're thrilled to know we hit the mark! As you discovered, our views are hard to beat, dropping you instantly into the world of celebrities and glamour. We'll be sure to let our team at Tropicana know they made a difference in your stay, and we're delighted that you felt the full worth of your visit. We hope to become a tradition, perhaps welcoming you back on your first anniversary!

All the best,
Don Jacinto, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews
<