We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved the Hidden Gem”
other travellers have booked this property
Living area looking towards separate bedroom with queen size comfy bed.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living area looking towards separate bedroom with queen size comfy bed.
Cozy nook for coffee or taking in the views of the Hollywood Hills. Beautiful grounds of the guesthouse and view from breakfast nook.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Living area looking towards separate bedroom with queen size comfy bed.
Cozy nook for coffee or taking in the views of the Hollywood Hills.
Beautiful grounds of the guesthouse and view from breakfast nook.
Breakfast nook with Bedroom in the background.
Living room and Kitchen
Full kitchen with everything you need.
Bedroom as seen from the living room.
Entrance to the Guesthouse
View from living room window
Main living area
Stairway to your private oasis...decorated with little white lights at night.
Lots of natural light and trees
View of trees and hills.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Los Angeles, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michael B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved the Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay in the Hollywood Hills Hidden Gem! This rental is located in a very nice area. Due to the hilly terrain and home placements, the homes in this area are all very uniquely designed and have nice gardens. There is very little traffic through this area. The neighbors that we met were all friendly.
This rental is the lower level of the house. The layout of the rental is very smartly designed and it is nicely decorated. It was clean and very comfortable. There is a nice view from the living/dining room. We really appreciated the air conditioning since the temperature was in the 90’s when we were in LA. This home is beautifully landscaped with an artful brick stairway from the road to separate entries for the house and the rental. These stairs may be a little challenging for some guests, but we had no problem getting our two 35 pound suitcases up to the rental. The parking is street parking but we were always able to park right in front of the property. Kathleen, the owner, is very nice and responded quickly to questions.
We stayed here on two consecutive weekends and toured California during the week between. We looked forward to our return to the Hidden Gem for the second weekend and would have been very happy to have been able stay there longer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmelint...
Carmel, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quiet with nice views”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Kathleen had a very nice rental. It is a little older property, but in nice condition. It is in a very interesting neighborhood high in the East Hollywood hills. The street and location is very quiet. Loved waking up and taking walks in the neighborhood and Lake Hollywood (just a short walk over the hill - about 4 mile walk if you do the entire lake). It is very convenient to Warner Brothers, Lake Forest, Toluca Lake, Universal, Hollywood, Hollywood sign and the freeways. The only reason not five stars is that there are a fair amount of stairs to climb (this may matter for some) and the shower is a little over 5' - so a little difficult for a tall person.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view and location
Liked least: short shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Thank you for your kind review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of all the sights that are close to the guesthouse. I definitely want people to know that there are 20 steps to the guesthouse which allow for such privacy from the street. It is in the description, but perhaps I will put it in a more obvious place for future guests to see. Hope you can come back soon and stay again! Happy travels! -Kathleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_kujalamu...
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at the Hollywood Hills guesthouse. It truly was a hidden gem...out of the bustle of the city, yet close enough to everything we wanted to see. The place was very clean and well looked after and the wi-fi was great. Kathleen was most helpful when we needed recommendations for dinner. The neighborhood is stunning and we enjoyed walking around and looking at the architecture of the million dollar homes that surround the guesthouse. We loved being nestled in the trees with a view of the mountains and watching the many songbirds from the living room window. It's a cozy little place that had everything we were looking for including a full kitchen stocked with everything we needed to make meals. So great to be less than a mile away from Universal Studios where we saw the Harry Potter World.and right down the street from Warner Bros. where we took a fun tour. Can't wait to return to the gem soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
So glad you had such a wonderful time at the guesthouse! You were a wonderful guest and I hope you come back to stay at your home away from home another time soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
127route6...
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Adequate accommodation in LA”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We thought at the end of our Route 66 travel a tranquil one bedroom apartment would be a perfect solution. The accommodation was in a good location and adequate for a couple. We did find it a bit tired, the walls were scuffed and the bedroom a bit claustrophobic. The bathroom is a bit out of date and if you are staying there you must be pepared red to use the plunger frequently. You can hear people walking on the floor above and the dog running and scratching the floorboards. In the morning the neighbourhood gardens are being maintained so you can expect to be woken up by grass cutting as early as 8am. The accommodation is cheap so if the price is the driver and you are happy to put up with the above and sit on a slightly stained sofa then you will find it adequat too.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bathroom and bad wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2016
Thank you so much for the feedback. We have done a full inspection of the home to make sure all the issues you mentioned are fixed. We've had a plumber out to make sure everything is working properly and we've spoken to our housekeeping staff to make sure that everything is perfect in the future. I'm sorry your stay was anything less than perfect. As I mentioned in my welcome letter to you, I am always available if any problem should arise. I only wish you had reached out when you were staying at the property and I would have fixed them immediately. Thanks again...your feedback is appreciated!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vg100941
Rye, New York
2 reviews
“Great Location”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is truly a hidden gem - the location could not have been better. Nice quiet neighborhood yet central location for getting around LA.
If we are ever in the LA area would love to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: spotty wi-fi
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing