We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (540)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveller rating
340
96
50
32
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
340
96
50
32
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach marine room private club fire pit beach vacation bit dated golf course la jolla beach an older property tc amenities ocean grilling california
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 540 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2021

Location and vibe couldn't be better. Super people working there. Rooms are very, very dated. Took a tennis clinic, putted with my daughter who also played on the playground. Excellent food. Cooked dinner on the beach. Memorable for sure.

Date of stay: April 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2021 via mobile

La Jolla beach and tennis club was an amazing resort with spectacular grounds, beautiful beaches and very comfortable rooms.
All employees were very friendly, extremely helpful, and always ready to please.
The location is perfect as we could walk to great restaurants and some shopping as well.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Riva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2021

This property "owns the beach" but lacks service in all areas: beach needs more cleaning, staff needs more helpfulness and friendliness and rooms need cleaning. In spite of very high rates, it appears that covid is used as an excuse to eliminate human service--including help at check in/out, daily housekeeping (it is 3 times per week so mountains of sand build up in between), properly cleaning beach and too limited front desk and beach personnel.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N8622OCjudyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex Willow, General Manager at La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2021

Dear Judy,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit. Covid protocols have definitely impacted the hospitality industry as we continue to strive to meet the needs our guest, but should never be used as an excuse to serve our guests. I appreciate your feedback and will share it with our teams. I hope that you may give us another opportunity in the future to serve you and your family.
Thank you,
Alex Willow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2021 via mobile

La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club is a members private club that does have a few rooms available for the general public. While the location is amazing, the overall stay left much to be desired.

Hospitality - Ever aspect of hospitality is geared towards members not guests. If you go ask questions at the frontdesk, it feels you are imposing and wasting their time. The first day when we checked in, Chuck was very nice; but the rest of the time you felt the distance. In one instance, one employee, instead of asking me if I needed anything, just said, "So you are checking out now".

Services/Amenities - there is a wide variety of services and amenities BUT the opportunities go to members first. Tennis courts, pool time, golf availability, grilling and fires on the beach. We were only able to grill out.
I do have to say that the workers on the beach were very helpful and polite. They were always willing to grab beach towels or beach chairs. They were also willing to explain the member vs. guest divide.

Cleanness - Due to the fact that members get priority for daily house keeping, they had little time in our rooms. They were only there twice for a total of an hour. We noticed that they used the same sheets to make our bed as well. Our party spent time each day cleaning and asking for more towels or sheets. To get any of these items took awhile to get to our rooms.

Property - the overall property is amazing and is why it redeems the stay. Access to the beach and other stores and restaurants in La Jolla was a plus.

Rooms - there were so many issues with the rooms. Guests rooms are out of date and neglected. There were ants and flies due to front doors having gaps at the bottom and windows with no screens. The bathroom was beyond in need of repairs. Water leaked constantly from the bathroom sink while on. So you had to leave a towel on the sink to protect any items on the vanity. There were major areas of the bathroom wall that could be peeled back to expose mold. The window in the bathroom opened up to roof area??? It was dilapidated and rusted, so if y ou left the window open rust pieces came into the bathroom. Guest rooms are located next to the parking lot and staff stations so there was constant noise all hours of the (yes 6 AM to 11 PM). The kitchenette area had very cheap appliances (toaster / refrigerator) which were hard to use. Plus we got an open bag of popcorn.

Value - as a guest, for what you pay, you certainly do not receive a complete beach vacation experience. For over $300 a night, there was a complete lack of quality and professional attitudes by many of the workers towards guests.

Other - as mentioned, this club really needs to rethink the policies and view of guests. One instance, one of our party was asked to leave the beach because "she didn't belong". She gave the two room numbers we were staying and they made her come off the beach to verify. The second instance occurred when our party had set up our beach chairs and umbrella with the help of the beach workers in what we thought was a nice location. We had been there for about 40 minutes when another group came out. I could over hear one of the woman from the group loudly and rudely stating that that was their normal spot. Luckily it was only me at the time and the kids and the rest of the adults were on the water.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank michellemT3189CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex Willow, General Manager at La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2021

Dear Michelle,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. As the property reopens to travelers it is important for us to receive comments from guests such as yourself. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the property overall and had a positive experience with members of our beach crew. I am sorry that you encountered issues with your guest room and some members of our staff. This is not the standard of our staff and I will be sure to share your comments and pictures with our operations team. Covid protocols have definitely impacted the hospitality industry as we continue to strive to meet the needs our guest. I hope that we may give us another opportunity in the future to serve you and your family.
Thank you,
Alex Willow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2020

We were a little hesitant to stay at the property due to some of the reviews. So glad that we did as we had a wonderful getaway weekend. We stood in a two bedroom oceanfront suite and it was perfect. Nice kitchen, beds were comfortable, TVs in all rooms, and best of all were the beautiful views. My husband and son loved the little golf course also! We will definitely be back very soon!!!

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank halfmarathonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews