We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$206
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/08
Official Website
US$185
View deal
Expedia.com
US$206
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/08
Hotels.comUS$206
PricelineUS$206
TraveluroUS$225
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 410)
Filter reviews
1 410 results
Traveller rating
934
371
70
15
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
934
371
70
15
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews manhattan restaurant piano bar spa suite valet parking continental breakfast within walking distance street parking shops and restaurants perfect location front desk staff the breakfast area comfortable room definitely stay here again san diego coffee maker ocean view seamus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1 410 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2021

The safe box was broken. Had to wait until 9am for staff to come and was told it couldn't be fixed. Had to carry my laptops and valuables every day in my tours. The toilet was leaking the first day but was fixed next day

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank michelelee2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 July 2021

There is one staff member, Siennika, who has always been very helpful in every way during my monthly stays. She provides extra towels, coffee and computer help from the front desk with a smile and is genuinely happy to assist. Five stars to her!
I gave the hotel itself only 3 stars as the refrigerator had not been cleaned and defrosted, a handle on the dresser has been broken for over 2 months, and the bathroom sink handles have been coming loose for over 2 months. Great location.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank cathyhN934BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 June 2021 via mobile

Great location, front desk staff was awesome! Came for a little getaway with the family. The location is close to many food options. Street parking was fairly available but decided to use the hotel’s valet service for a daily fee (in and out privileges). The room was clean, staff was friendly and would definitely stay again. Had no issues as all.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Mighty2Mighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 May 2021

My wife and I enjoy staying here and have several rimes, but they are really off their game. The hotel is very clean and the staff top notch, but broadly the hotel's owners are mailing it in. When you arrive (first impressions, right?) the planter along the front is just gross - not cared for at all and full of leaves, cigarette vutts and trash. It'd take somebody 10 minutes a day to clean it, so what's the problem? This is 2021, yet their wi-fi is very 1993. You CANNOT stay on it for longer than 10 minutes w/o losing signal. It's infuriating and inexcusable! Also, they're taking the, "Well, you know, COVID" excuse to the extreme. Gyms are open in CA, but theirs is closed, as is their business center. Many small restaurants surround them, all of which are open, yet their breakfast room is NOT. Why? Lazy? Don't care? I mean, really. You cannot even get a cup of coffee in the morning, and not a single bottle of water available at the front desk. Pathetic, really. Remember, this is in La Jolla, which means "the jewel." The hotel is no jewel, and certainly not befitting of its name, The Empress. Theiy're paying managers and general manager for what, exactly? Do they not have eyes? Can they somehow not see what every guest sees? Or do they just not care? We're REALLY disappointed in how far this hotel has fallen. The owners need to get their sh*t together or sell the place to someone will!

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALKAcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 May 2021 via mobile

Great place in a great location. Can walk to so many places including restaurants, shops, and down close to the ocean. Room had a partial view of the ocean. Everything was very clean and cozy. The staff was great, particularly Siennika, who was a pleasure and made certain that I had everything.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Tour547259
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews