We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$321
US$278
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$365
US$318
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$326
US$310
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$453
US$424
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
San Diego Marriott La Jolla(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$393
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
US$420
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1 062)
Filter reviews
1 062 results
Traveller rating
670
309
55
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
670
309
55
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanhattan restaurantvalet parkingpiano barspa suitecontinental breakfastwithin walking distanceboiled eggsstreet parkingjacuzzi tubyogurtshops and restaurantssmall hotelheart of la jollaperfect locationfront desk staffstarbucks coffeeshort walk to the beach
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1 062 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was elegant and beautiful. From the outside you wouldn't know what a gem it was inside! Rooms were decorated in a upscale way and was very spacious. Beds were so comfortable I was sad to leave. I will be coming back again soon!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Carrie T,

We are happy that you stayed with us for a wedding that you attended in La Jolla. I am glad that you liked our rooms and the amenities that we provide. We cannot wait to welcome you back again in the near future. Thanks for staying with us!

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms were nicely done with ammenities I would have expoected in more expensive places. The location is great in downtown LaJolla. Lots of great restaurants and the beach is close by. I'll be back. Definately a luxury room at a lower than luxury cost.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Neil M,

We are happy that you liked our room and the amenities that we provide. Our location is central to everything that La Jolla has to offer. I am glad that you enjoyed it! We are a very good value for the dollar especially when one considers are complimentary expanded breakfast and Wi-Fi are included in the cost of the room. Thanks for staying with us! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our room was a suite, excellent condition and the Mahattan Dinning Room was charming. We will book our stay here when we return to La Jolla. It is nestled in the middle of the shopping of La Jolla. Excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dunmuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Dunmuz,

We are happy that you liked your suite and that you enjoyed the Manhattan Restaurant. Our location is central to everything that La Jolla has to offer. Thanks for staying with us! We look forward to welcoming you back and soon!

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location..location..location - we stayed there as a couple for two nights to attend a graduation at UCSD. I can't say enough about this hotel. It is spotless and has everything you need to stay in that area. It is not big hotel so don't expect to have swimming pool or big gym, but who need that and all the activities are around you.

We had the continental breakfast and it was decent.to keep you on your day, I liked the fresh squeezed orange and grape fruit juices in the morning.

Room Tip: We got a queen room for $180 on Booking.com, the hotel was on sale that day. All other same level hotels prices were higher than $280
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matholeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Matholeh,

We appreciate your comments about our location as we are central to everything that La Jolla has to offer! I am glad that you liked your room and the amenities that we provide. Our morning breakfast is a great way to start one's day as there is something for everyone! We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Generally speaking, we LOVE this hotel. We've been coming here for years. The location is ideal because once you park your car, you'll not need it unless you are leaving the Village. A huge plus is the staff - awesome, well done! With a great room rate, a great location AND being pet friendly, I can't ask for more. If this hotel replaced their old beds, I'd bump this rating up to 5 stars :)

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank msmartinez5566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, General Manager at Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear msmartinez5566,

We are happy that you are frequent visitors to the Empress Hotel. Our location is central to everything that La Jolla has to offer. I appreciate your mention of our associates as it is our goal for all guests to experience exceptional service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews