We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
17 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$236
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/01
Official Site
US$176
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/03
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$177
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/02
PricelineUS$236
FindHotelUS$180
Hotels.comUS$177
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 355)
Filter reviews
1 355 results
Traveller rating
417
422
210
146
160
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
417
422
210
146
160
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la jolla cove sea lions ocean view rooftop terrace living room prospect street main building pool and hot tub shops and restaurants microwave seagulls mike coastline california
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1 355 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2021 via mobile

This hotel is under construction- which I went in expecting when we checked it out as a venue for a large wedding with a large room block. The bigger issue is that the staff have zero integrity. Especially Ann Marie the catering manager. She asked me to meet her there at a specific time (FYI La Jolla has terrible traffic) but we still got there (after 45 mins of traffic) well before the time she said she was leaving and yet she was gone when we got there. We checked out what we could anyways and spoke to the people doing construction who were on-site who told us flat out Ann Marie lied and there was no way the construction on the rooftop is finishing before September 2021 (vs July what she said). The elevator up was a dump that barely worked and the main building outside is very weathered and unimpressive.

Room tip: Avoid this place! So Many better options
Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Alyssa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 2 June 2021

Dear Alyssa L, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the hotel. We appreciate your feedback and are so sorry to hear of your disappointment with Ann Marie. It seems there was a misunderstanding as to whether or not the appointment was confirmed, and for that, she is truly sorry. We currently have 48 newly renovated units in our Pines building. The hotel plans to renovate the main building (elevator included) this Fall and we hope to have the majority of the property completed by Spring of 2022. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you when the renovation is complete. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2021

I was extremely disappointed with our stay. Do not believe the nice photos on their website that shows newly renovated rooms. There must only be a few finished as the place looked like a war zone as it was mostly under construction. Based on the condition of the non-renovated room we stayed in that looks like it was from the 1950's, the musty smell of the room, and having to drag my heavy luggage up 3 flights of stairs and then back down again at our departure since there is no elevator, the $400 a night that we paid was way overpriced and was not a good value for the money. We visit La Jolla on a frequent basis and we will not be staying here again.

Date of stay: May 2021
1  Thank PopMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 18 May 2021

Dear PopMick, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback and are so sorry to hear of your disappointment with the rooms. We currently have 48 newly renovated units in our Pines building, but the remaining rooms in the Cove & Terrace sections of the property, are much older. The hotel plans to renovate another section of the property this Fall and we hope to have the majority of the property completed by Spring of 2022. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you when the renovation is complete. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2021

Our stay at La Jolla Cove Hotel and Suites was amazing. The front desk staff was very inviting. The shining star was Kristina, the front desk manager. My wife and I spent our honey moon at the location and Kristina went above and beyond to make it magical. Kudos to her and the team for great customer service across the board. The hotel was within walking distance of the beach and many nice restaurants. The upgraded rooms were very nice and had everything we needed. The room was clean, modern and had a very sleek look. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in La Jolla and plan to come back very soon!

Room tip: Upgraded rooms
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 4 May 2021

Dear Sean C, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback and are so happy to hear you had a 5-star stay. It's especially great to hear your comments about the staff and Kristina in particular. We work hard to provide the best experience for our guests, so your feedback is welcome, & appreciated. Please give us a call the next time you plan a trip to beautiful La Jolla Cove!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2021

First time here and it was the worst experience ever they try to charge more than what they say it was at first the front is racist towards Mexican people and probably other racist too said it was there mistake and still tried to charge us. they even involved the cops when there was no need we had our baby with us and did not care how late it was to kick us out.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 639ivonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 28 April 2021

Dear 639ivonner, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It's unfortunate to hear your comments, especially those involving race. I can assure, race had nothing to do with your eviction. When you checked in, you had a reservation for three nights, however you arrived a day early. Your reservation was from 4/23 - 4/26. You arrived on 4/22. When the front desk contacted you on 4/25 to see if you were leaving, you said you were staying another night, so the front desk tried to run your credit card for the remaining night and it declined. We spoke to you that afternoon and asked you to come by the desk to settle the remaining balance. Your keys expired on that day, but you did not check out, and you did not provide us with payment. When our night shift finally got ahold of you and told you we needed payment, you refused to pay, and you refused to check out. For that reason, we had no other choice than to get the authorities involved, and have you evicted. I hope you can understand, that without paying for the room, we cannot allow you to stay. We wish you the best and hope to serve you in the future under better circumstances. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2021

Great location for a quick get-away with the grandkids. Kristnina was awesome at being helpful, friendly and inviting. Remodeling in progress, will be beautiful and will visit soon. All shops and food were short walk, beach and sea life close by too.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tinod187
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 28 April 2021

Dear tinod187, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you had a great time with your grand kiddo! It's also great to hear your comments about Kristina. She works hard to provide our guests with the best service possible, so your feedback is greatly appreciated. Please give us a call the next time you plan a trip to lovely La Jolla Cove!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews