We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$326
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/14
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$321
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/13
Hurb
US$345
US$311
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/13
Official WebsiteUS$326
PricelineUS$326
Trip.comUS$345
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 304)
Filter reviews
2 304 results
Traveller rating
1 515
524
178
56
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 515
524
178
56
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean view historic hotel main building perfect location within walking distance valet parking shops and restaurants wonderful hotel valet service an older hotel turn down service san diego street parking sea lions per day suite cove
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 2 304 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2021

The Grande Colonial is always our choice when visiting LaJolla. The hotel is beautiful, a wonderful combination of timeless elegance and modern comfort. I love walking through the front doors to the beautifully furnished lobby with its carved, gilded moldings and view of the ocean. The rooms likewise retain historic charm, but feature clean modern bathrooms. The staff is fantastic and incredibly nice. They always go out of their way to be helpful and it is clear that they love the hotel and care about the guests' experience. The hotel also boasts Nine-Ten, a Michelin starred restaurant. The food is amazing and I love that they provide the hotel's room service. Truly, we visit every summer and and would not consider staying anywhere else. We visited with our daughter this trip, but it is also a great choice for a couple's getaway.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank slkthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Colonial , General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2021

Dear Slkthom: It is always a pleasure to hear from our repeat guests, especially those who have been so supportive of us over the years. Not only do we appreciate your loyalty, we appreciate even more you sharing your sentiment with others here on TripAdvisor who may not yet know where they are staying while visiting the area. We are indeed a historic hotel, dating back to 1913. But as you mention, our true hallmark is our warm, gracious and friendly staff. I am so happy that your review reflects what we strive to achieve each and every day. And thanks for the additional kudos about our NINE-TEN Restaurant. So glad you enjoy it. We look forward to having you back for yet another visit. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2021 via mobile

Lovely historic ambiance with ocean views, our room was spacious yet cozy for a flagship style property. The bed, linens and towels all met if not exceeded expectations. Daily texts enabled easy of communication around timing of daily room cleaning (if desired). Staff was professional and friendly from valet, front desk and housekeeping.

Room tip: Check with staff in advance around expectations whether it’s view of ocean, the village, noise (is/isn’t issue), dogs, and/all other.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SunshineTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Colonial , General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2021

Dear SunshineTahoe: I couldn't be more pleased to read your comments about your recent visit to La Jolla. As you reference, we are a historic hotel but we are committed to making constant improvements to the property to keep it updated and modernized, all the while maintaining our old-world charm and, of course, the comfort our guests have come to expect. It is our top priority to ensure that all of our guests leave with lasting, positive memories and it sounds like we did just that for you. We hope you'll have the chance to return soon. Until then, thank you again. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2021

We traveled to San Diego for our 25th anniversary and chose to stay in La Jolla near the shore. The Grande Colonial was a great location, and the overall accommodations were quite nice, but after notifying the hotel twice in advance about our anniversary, the staff failed to notice or provide any nice welcome, special room with great view or other amenities. Also, while they claim to be a 4* hotel, the restaurant and bar were closed two of the four nights we stayed, so that was disappointing as well. Contrast this disappointment with the experience we had at Eddie V’s for our anniversary dinner where multiple staff stopped by to congratulate us and provided complimentary champagne welcome, a specially decorated table with an amazing view and a complimentary dessert.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JoeLos152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Colonial , General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2021

Dear JoeLos152: Thank you very much for providing feedback about your recent stay. I am very sorry to hear that the visit was less than memorable, especially when traveling for this special occasion. We strive for excellence at every opportunity and clearly we failed you. For that I am very sorry. I understand a member of my team has reached out to you directly and I do hope you will give us another opportunity to earn back your future trust and loyalty. I know we can do a much better job. Meanwhile, I do appreciate you bringing your experience to my attention. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2021 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at the King terrace suite. It was perfect for me, husband and 4 year old. The room was spacious allowing my toddler to sprawl around. It was fully equipped with a dishwasher, fridge, microwave and stovetop. The location was great! I was able to have my morning run, walk out to the terrace and run along the coast of the beach within a block from the hotel. All the best restaurants are within walking distance. Check in and out was seamless and their front desk was so friendly. I can’t remember the name of the gentleman who checked us in but he’s a fellow Washingtonian! He gave me a list of recommendations as we were new to the area and was so genuinely helpful. They utilized text services which made it easy for me when I had requests for housekeeping, etc. Thanks for a great stay!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank dianne_fernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Colonial , General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2021

Dear Dianne: Thank you so very much for taking the time to post comments about your recent visit. As the father of three sons, I know what it's like to travel with young children. I couldn't be more pleased to hear that our staff went above-and-beyond to give everyone a memorable experience. I'm also glad you enjoyed your suite in one of our adjacent, all-suite wings. The 22 suites located in those wings provide a more residential-feel with full kitchens and some even with fireplaces. They are ideal for families traveling with children or those seeing a little more space and privacy. I hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to La Jolla. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2021

I stayed in the Suites, which I think is a new addition. Anyway, the room was so noisy, I could hear everything upstairs, out in the hall, people going up and down the stairs--really terrible. I couldn't believe I spent that much money on such a noisy room. I travel a lot and hands down, the room was the noisiest I've ever encountered.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank zadamedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Colonial , General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2021

Dear Zadamedes: I am very sorry to hear about the noise issues you experienced during your recent visit. There is nothing worse than not getting a good night's sleep while on vacation. Being a historic hotel, we do everything to keep the facility updated and modernized, all the while maintaining our historic charm. I do hope you will give us another opportunity the next time your travels bring you to the area. I know we can find a much quieter room, either in our adjacent all-suite wings or in the main building. Thank you for that opportunity. Best regards, Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews