We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$303
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/01
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$291
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/01
Hotels.com
US$291
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/01
PricelineUS$303
eDreamsUS$303
CheapTicketsUS$291
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 313)
Filter reviews
2 313 results
Traveller rating
1 520
525
178
58
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 520
525
178
58
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean view historic hotel main building perfect location within walking distance valet parking shops and restaurants wonderful hotel valet service an older hotel turn down service san diego street parking sea lions per day suite cove
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 2 313 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2021 via mobile

Such a great hotel. Great staff. Clean. Spacious. Great location. Highly recommended.

Michelle De La Espriella at the front desk / reservations is superb.

Rooms are like they’re supposed to be - not cramped and I wouldn’t change anything.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Explorer55407768623
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Colonial , General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to share feedback about your recent visit. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, particularly the service you received. I will be sure to share your comments with Michelle and the rest of our team. Hope to see you back on a future trip to La Jolla. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2021

Wonderful little gem in the middle of La Jolla. Superb food and service, stunning restoration of this old building and safe and comfortable stay coming out of Covid. We can not say enough about how perfect our trip was and to come 'home' the the GC was like coming home to something quaint and familiar.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DaphneS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Colonial , General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2021

Dear DaphneS01: We couldn't be more pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit to La Jolla and your stay with us. We know that during these unprecedented times, escaping for even just a couple of days can truly rejuvenate the soul. Thank you so much for choosing to do so with us at the Grande Colonial. We are delighted to become your "home-away-from-home" and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to our seaside Village. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2021 via mobile

Spent a few nights in San Diego at the Del then wanted to check out LA Jolla. I booked this a few months ago nor sure what to expect but the reviews were good.

Arrived early and we were greeted by Brian, who treated us as old friends. We explored La Jolla while they got our room ready.

I was unaware the wonderful history of the hotel nor was I aware of the reported ghost stories. While we didn't run into any ghosts, the place certainly put a spell on us!

The staff was very attentive. We were upgraded to an Ocean view suite which was stunning. Small refrigerator and bottled water in the room. Bathroom large with rain forest shower. We opened all the windows and fell asleep to the sound of the waves hitting the shore.

Our only regret was not skipping San Diego and staying here instead.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank mauimama0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Colonial , General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2021

Dear Mauimama0110: We are honored to read such a positive review of your recent visit to the Grande Colonial. We know you have many choices of where to stay here in San Diego and we appreciate very much you giving us the opportunity to earn your trust and loyalty. Being a historic hotel (just celebrated our 108th birthday), we have heard our share of haunted happenings over the years from hotel guests and employees. But rest assured that these are just guests who love our hotel so much that they never want to check out. I hope your next visit will be sooner than later and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back through our doors. Meanwhile, thanks for sharing your comments here on TripAdvisor. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2021

We stayed in a suite with a little kitchenette. It was an okay size but it sort of had too much furniture for our taste. Was a very quiet room and nice bed. Wish there had been a pack and play but I knew ahead that there wasn’t.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Coupon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Colonial , General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2021

Dear Coupon S: Thanks so much for the feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in La Jolla. And I appreciate your candid comments and suggestions for how we might improve. I do hope you will give us another opportunity the next time your travels bring you back to the area. Until then, thank you again. Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2021

Rooms beautifully appointed, walking distance to ALL, beautiful ocean views, cute little pool, but most of all --- amazingly relaxing vibe and super friendly staff from the valet parking to the registration desk to the perfect little cocktail bar to the beautifully restore elevator. It's a winner on all accounts! Already making reservations to go back!!

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank crystalbD8993CW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Colonial , General Manager at Grande Colonial La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2021

Dear CrystalbD8993CW: I am so happy to hear how memorable your recent stay was. Call me biased, but I couldn't agree more that our hotel is in the perfect location, walking distance to all of the shopping, dining and entertainment renowned to beautiful La Jolla. We are thrilled to welcome you back for another stay and hope that will be sooner than later. Until then, thanks so much for sharing feedback. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews