We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 676)
Filter reviews
1 676 results
Traveller rating
1 108
323
139
68
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 108
323
139
68
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pink lady whaling bar beautiful hotel ocean view san diego rooms are small center of la jolla sea lions valet parking valet service southern california the entire staff shops and restaurants villa bobby med shannon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 1 676 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2021 via mobile

We had a flawless stay at La Valencia. I will preface to say that my family has not traveled in over a year and a half from our home state and this was our first foray out of state with a 14 month old baby.

Mark the Concierge was a dream both digitally (before our stay, reaching out and offering help with all of the things/questions) and in person. He is incredibly welcoming and very good at his job.

The food, our villa, the gorgeous cocktails, the grounds, the pool: everything was incredible.

We are probably biased but service at the pool (where we spent the majority of our time while at the hotel) was impeccable. Jared, Mike, and big shout out to our girl Lisa. They were especially accommodating, kind, super friendly, and beyond helpful.

All of the staff were attentive, and we are grateful for the extra precautions the hotel is taking to ensure the health and safety of the guests. We were appreciative of the crib as well as the mini fridge that was delivered to our room to accommodate milk for our baby.

Our only change would be the water pressure in our villa was very low and maybe needs a new shower head.

La Valencia you are a ten and we cannot wait to return!

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank natdparadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annalise Dewhurst, Marketing at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2021

Dear Natalie,
It was our pleasure to welcome you and your family to La Valencia Hotel. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and are especially pleased that Mark, and the pool team helped make your stay special. We will be sure to share your kind words with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to La Jolla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2021

we stayed in a Villa king for our 30th wedding anniversary and it was average and very tired; sink hot water didn't work, they neglected to tell us at check in that there would be no maid service. Would not return.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Postinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annalise Dewhurst, Marketing at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2021

Dear Postinsd,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. While we're thrilled to hear you enjoyed our location and pool, we regret that your room did not exceed your expectations. We apologize that we missed the mark as our team does its best to inform all guests at check-in of the temporary pause to our housekeeping service. We would love the opportunity to speak with you further about your stay and encourage you to contact Arturo, our director of rooms, at abaylon@lavalencia.com. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for the five-star experience we're known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2021

The La Valencia is a great Hotel,with the perfect location in La Jolla.
It is super close to the beach, with many fine restaurants and shops minutes away.
Our room overlooked the ocean and La Jolla cove.
The weather on our anniversary was the best of the trip,sunny and warm.
Kingsley the manager was gracious and friendly,as was the entire staff.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Ray Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annalise Dewhurst, Marketing at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2021

Dear Ray,
On behalf of our team, we'd like to wish you a Happy 25th Anniversary! We're honored you choose to celebrate with us at La Valencia Hotel. We appreciate your kind review and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2021

Covid scored a kill on this once magnificent hotel.
The physical condition of LV is not even 3 star quality, the lobby, and many exterior walls are plaster cracked and peeling. Is that the first impression they are going for?

They should close and stay closed until they can re-staff, to pre-covid levels.
From check in to check out on a 6 day stay in a nice sized suite, the lack of staffing was glaring.
They told us at check in that there would be no maid service, we balked, and started to leave, and they then said we could have daily maid service....hmmm.
So, only if you threaten to leave?
The bar is open all the way to 8:30 at night, for you wild and crazy types.
So if you go to dinner, and would like a drink afterwards, go elsewhere.
Our suite had 4 wooden hangers, (for the two of us for our 6 day stay), no soap in the bathroom, or shower.
The internet is spotty, on and off, and unsecured.
Upside?
The showers are excellent, huge walk in with three showerheads, and phenomenal water pressure. The staff poolside are excellent, friendly, and attentive.
Don't plan on sleeping late if the pressure cleaning crew is out by the pool ore sidewalks. Unbelievable noise.
Upon check out , I called for a bellman, for our six bags, ONE bellman, 20 minute wait, for which I couldn't wait around . So, I rolled all bags myself up the road, up the hill...
I have enjoyed staying at LV for the past 43 years, probably 25 times. Very sad to say, this was likely my last stay.

Room tip: look elsewhere
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annalise Dewhurst, Marketing at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2021

Dear Kenny,
Thank you for returning to stay with us in the heart of La Jolla. We appreciate your feedback and regret that your most recent visit was not representative of our hotel's five-star standards. While we have implemented some temporary service changes due to the impacts of COVID-19, our team's dedication to our guests remains the same. We've shared your review with our team and would like to speak with you further about your experience. At your convenience, we encourage you to contact our director of rooms, Arturo, at abaylon@lavalencia.com. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2021 via mobile

We stayed here for our first vacation by plane since 2019. Our stay was perfect. We stayed in an Ocean view villa suite with a wonderful outdoor patio overlooking the park and the ocean. Our son stayed in a Vintage room which was also very nicely appointed and had a great tower view of the ocean. The common areas and the pool area are gorgeous and relaxing too. This hotel is a great combination of being at a top-class resort but centrally located in the middle of wonderful La Jolla. Simply the best. Service and amenities were also top notch.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jameshH8322IU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annalise Dewhurst, Marketing at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2021

Dear James,
It was our pleasure to welcome you and your family to La Valencia Hotel. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your villa suite and had a relaxing stay in La Jolla. On behalf of our team, we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews