We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful weather, smooth ride,

The launch location is located in Kameoka. The best way to get there is to ride the Sagano... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
CanuckJames
,
Nishinomiya, Japan
More bang for your buck

A must do while in Kyoto. From Kyoto station catch the San-in Line (purple, 11 stops) and exit... read more

Reviewed 15 August 2020
Silver12748
,
Ontario, California
Read all 379 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Kameoka
from US$72,74
More Info
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
206
119
35
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
206
119
35
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kameoka station beautiful scenery grilled squid small rapids sit cross legged sweet rice scenic railway jr train enjoy nature bamboo forest autumn foliage cherry blossoms photo opportunities crew gorge rocks arashiyama
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 379 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2020

A must do while in Kyoto. From Kyoto station catch the San-in Line (purple, 11 stops) and exit Kameoka Station. GPS says to exit the station on the south side, but you can also exit on the north. We went north. Seemed more direct. Follow the road north (which goes through the station parking lot), then it turns right. Then make a left on the next street which is before the bridge. If you reach the bridge you passed it. It seemed strange that the station personnel did not even know where the boat ride was located. This is a fun 2 hour boat ride at times going through some dangerous rapids. The two guys controlling the boat were professionals and knew every rock that was in the way. Very inexpensive. Highly recommended. A hidden gem. Be sure to also do the kimono forest and bamboo forest where you exit. We had a Japanese speaker, but he tried his best to say a few words in English. Our trip was before the pandemic so masks and hand sanitizers were not required.

Date of experience: November 2019
1  Thank Silver12748
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 July 2020 via mobile

It’s sightseeing of the exciting boat in the valley.When it’s about the end of the course you can get to eat a beer,juice, grilled squid,and sweet rice dumpling,etc at the other stand boat on the river.

Date of experience: June 2020
1  Thank 京都 ほ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 March 2020

I combined this trip with the Sagano scenic railway and bamboo forest walk. They are all in the same location of Kyoto. A thoroughly enjoyable ride through gentle flowing and some small rapids expertly piloted by the four crew members in a beautiful location. The gorge is filled with cherry blossoms during flowering season. Reasonably priced too. Would definitely do it again

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank barbara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 February 2020

This is not the first time, that my family had decided to be on the Hozugawa River Boat ride. Unfortunately, this time round, it's not a great ride. We discovered that we had to sit cross legged on the bottom of the boat instead of a plank that will allow us to be properly seated. Perhaps it's a cold day, the boat was draped with a plastic sheet that limits the visibility. It's needless to say that many photo opportunities were lost because we could not see much and that our legs are cramped up.

Date of experience: December 2019
2  Thank gymmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 December 2019

My Husband and I took the Sagano train during the beautiful Hanami season a couple of years ago.
This time we got the boat ride as all the train tickets had been snapped up.
But it turned to be a fun and somewhat exciting boat ride, not to mention the boat ride costs like 7 times the train ride.
It's like a mini white water rafting experience!
We got more up close and personal with the amazing autumn foliage colors, so really happy to have done it!

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank See_theworld_Godmade
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews