We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamu Hotel(Sihanoukville)
US$80
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le D'Artagnan(Sihanoukville)
US$57
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Don Bosco Hotel School(Sihanoukville)
US$27
US$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Club Resort(Sihanoukville)(Great Value!)
US$27
US$20
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spayhiti Guesthouse(Sihanoukville)
US$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Legacy Hotel & Resort(Sihanoukville)
US$80
US$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sokha Beach Resort(Sihanoukville)
US$161
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (742)
Filter reviews
742 results
Traveller rating
267
273
132
42
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
273
132
42
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingsunset restaurantprivate beachjackie kennedyglass elevatortuk tukfree shuttletable tennisinfinity poolshower curtainbreakfast buffet issea viewphnom penhbeach barlarge poolclean beachbeach towels
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 742 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 nights. Went with my wife looking for a private clean beach and we found it. Isolated from noisy Serendipity beach but close enough to go and visit the restaurants (free shuttle to anf from town). Yes the hotel is aold and you can see it but still a great experience if you want to be away for some days. Great sunsets

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Diego M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed in a villa for 3 days, and it was superb, esp. the en suite bathroom - modern and fab! Had to go out for a meal, though, as the food was a bit pricey; thumbs up for the free breakfast though, there were a lot of food to choose from. Prompt and good service from staff as well. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank supergirlmarsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Staff was very rude and doesn't speak very much English. We came to enjoy the beautiful beach (that's why I am giving 2 stars not 1), but were offended by the staff.

Staff repeatedly made unreasonable requests and repeatedly asked us to move around while we were trying to enjoy our holiday. For a four star hotel, the Independence hotel left much to be desired.

It is also currently under construction. The loud construction noises bothered us to no end!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank deweys22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boun Kean E, General Manager at Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Soursdey dear Guests “Deweys22”,

We would like to apology about your disappointing stay with us and thank you for your precious comments.

All our residents can access to any hotel facilities. We do feel very sorry that you were offended by our staff who asked you rudely to move around the beach without reason.

We admit that most of our staff speaks with low English level and we do our best to training them the most used words and we do hope your understanding.

For the construction disturbance, we try to minimize the noise and accommodate our guests far away during the renovation period.

Again, we greatly value your patronage and hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the type of hospitality and service you expect.

Please contact me in person for your next holiday at gm@independencehotel.net.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and thank you for your support.

Yours truly,
EAP Boun Kean

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Seashore unit is fantastic. Boardwalk is unnder construction. Once it is finished, walking along the beach would beyond reality. Highly recommended for family, couples, and group tour. No casino would be a plus or minus

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank changm00s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Located far enough from Sihanoukville to be untainted bt the grubby town this great hotel has managed to maintain high quality without yet succumbing to the blandness of so many big hotel chains.

It is difficult to fault the place: large and comfortable rooms, great food & drink, lovely grounds & pool, friendly & courteous staff.

Long may it remain this way.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Drph24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews