We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (860)
Filter reviews
860 results
Traveller rating
610
167
66
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
610
167
66
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor bathroom sand floor phnom penh tuk tuk restaurant staff our honeymoon standard room building noise beach restaurant boat trip beach front beautiful beach the secret garden dvd player building work small hotel rainy season
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 860 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2017

I stayed at Tamu both before and after a visit to Kampot. I liked Tamu a lot -- cool design, excellent beach for swimming, good restaurant, kind staff. Sihanoukville has changed so much since I was last there, so it was good to escape the crazy casinos and masses of Chinese and Vietnamese tourists to a quiet place.

Date of stay: December 2017
1  Thank 5yearsinAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Otres, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Dear 5yearsinAsia,

On behalf of Tamu team we would like to thank you very much for your kind words..

We are honored that Tamu decoration, food and personal service was to your liking. Be ensure that we will share your lovely comments with our devoted staff.

We wish to welcome you again,

Best Regards,

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Hotel on the beatiful beach of otres 2, no need to go to the islands to be in a parasitic place, 5 star staff, sympathetic, attentive, clean room, lovely pool, lovely grounds ... what do you need mis to be in a paraiso ... breakfast on the beach ...

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pexito29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre T, General Manager at Tamu Otres, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear pexito29,
Thank you very much for recommending us so warmly.
We are glad that you had a great time in TAMU.
We are honored that you qualified our teams as 5 stars staff. It's a real reward !
And we are happy that love the design of your room and our swimming-pool
Regards
Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Couple of things bother me here. I am currently staying in the secret garden next door to Tamu which is just as nice but hundreds of pounds cheaper. Another frustration was the amount of things missing from the menu. Each time we ate there was something no longer available. In one case one was unavailbe 3 times and then we were told it was available only for them to run out when they took our order.

Rooms are comfortable and clean and the staff are very friendly but with the prices they charge I would expect the food on the menu to be available.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Otres, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Adam B,

Thank you very much for taking your holiday time to review us while you are staying next door.

I am happy that you appreciated the comfort and the cleanliness of your room.
You stayed with us in Deluxe room : a 45m2 room featured with king size with Dunlopillo mattress, a sofa, outdoor private bathroom, ceiling fan, air con, TV and cable TV + DVD player. I would be curious to know in which category you stay in Secret garden after us to check if it’s comparable or not as I know that we apply the same range of price for the same room categories as we offer the same amenities in the rooms and the property.

I would like to apologize for the items missing on our new menu. It was the week when we launched our new menu and unfortunately we were waiting some delivery.
I sincerely apologized that you could eat what got you starved on our menu. Be sure that everything is in stock now, and I would be happy to invite you if you come back staying at TAMU.
We wish you the best.

Thank you again for recommending us
Kind regards
Alex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

We stayed at the Tamu hotel, after a busy two weeks touring around Vietnam and Cambodia. We stayed in a standard room. Although the rooms are basic, they are very clean and were well maintained during our stay. We did have a few issues with mosquitos, despite the mosquito deterrent provided. The breakfast is varied and nicely presented and the view from the breakfast area over the bay is great! The staff are very attentive and friendly. As we wanted a restful few days, we did find the construction (and constant noise even over the weekend) at the adjacent hotels intrusive but this is no reflection on Tamu management. We liked the ducks swimming in the sea, cows sunbathing on the beach and hens pecking around the shore line adjacent to the hotel and I fear that this local touchwill be lost quite soon when the larger hotels surrounding are completed. Although the locals do come and offer massages and boat trips, they were very respectful when they were declined, unlike other resorts we have previously visited. i liked the fact that Tamu management allowed the ladies to provide a massage at your sun bed. The surrounding roads are rough and the journey from Phnom Penh takes a long time, although there is a local airport about 25 minutes drive from the hotel. Don't got to Tamu is you want absolute luxury but it's a nice simple and friendly hotel with decent resources.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carr2528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Otres, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Carr2528,

A big thank for your kind review. We are happy that you underlined the cleanliness of our property : hotel and beach.

We are sorry and ask forgiveness for the disturbance noise from the construction in surroundings. The intensity of noise change from one day to another. Even in one day, it can be quiet in morning, and noisy in afternoon. It’s hard to inform our guests in advance, that’s why we let a note in every room to inform our holiday makers upon arrival.
We are cheerful that you appreciated our minimalist style and our quality of service.
We do our best to keep the authenticity in this area letting the wildlife enjoy the beach and the sea as you could enjoy too. We apologize if you were bitten by few mosquitoes. We spray our beach every week against sandflies and we treat our property against flying insects twice a month to reduce it.

We sincerely hope to welcome you again in TAMU.
Warmest regards,
Alex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed twice at Tamu hotel in November during our trips through Cambodia.
Both rooms were nice, clean and comfy.

We loved the modern feel of the room and the nice large outdoor bathroom.
The hotel is diveded in two sections by a road. First section has the reception, rooms and beautiful refreshing swimming pool. While the second section has the restaurant/bar plus beach facilities.

We were expecting a lot from this modern boutique hotel due to previous reviews. But, for us, the main surprise and the heart and soul of this hotel was the staff. Specially at the restaurant/beach. They were always looking after us and catering for our needs. The staff were very friendly and polite. They spoke really good English and were extremely professional. We noticed that management also spoke French.

The Tamu restaurant has nice food, both local and western varieties, menu written in English and French. Breakfast was also nice with plenty to choose from.

There were a couple of let downs, but I am been picky and these are situations outside the hotel management power, I believe, and they were:
- Otres 2 is in fast growth, and there are 3 big hotels under construction. So the noise does affect all hotels in the area equally. If you come from a big city like myself, it will become just whitenoise in the back ground and you will not notice it.
- At the beach section of the hotel, which is public, you constantly get harassed over buying island trips, sun glasses, wristbands and massages. Specially from the kids, trying to sell their wristbands. I have to point out though that the hotel does advise guests not to buy from the kids and clearly states that it is against child labor.

Overall, it was an amazing couple of stays. We were there for 4 nights at the first stay and 5 nights at the second stay and we feel refreshed and ready to return to work for another year.

Thanks Tamu staff for the great experience!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RobertCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Otres, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear RobertCosta,
Wow ! What a nice review !

We thank you so much for this high recommendation on TripAdvisor after your stays at TAMU.

We are happy that you spend a good break in our property, that you enjoyed your experience here, and that you could unwind during your beach holidays.
We are honored that you point out the friendliness and the quality of service from our staff. They take care our guest like their family.

We are proud that you felt re-energized after your stay with us.
We are delighted that you appreciated the food served in our restaurant on the beach. I am glad that you underlined the varieties of our menus, especially the breakfast.

Please accept our apologies to have been harassed by the sellers on the beach. We do not support child labor, you are right. We inform that in a guest information book provided in every room.

We wish you all the best for next year and deeply hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Alex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews