We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Convenient desert hideaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Full 2nd story apartment with amazing desert views.  Your home away from homell
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Full 2nd story apartment with amazing desert views.  Your home away from homell
Your private sundeck awaits you.  Great for sunning during the day and stargazing at night. Northern view from deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Full 2nd story apartment with amazing desert views.  Your home away from homell
Your private sundeck awaits you.  Great for sunning during the day and stargazing at night.
Northern view from deck
Southern view from deck
Comfortable queen size bed
Bedroom window faces south for views of JTNP
Two futon couches in living room fold out to double beds
Flat screen TV,  Dish network, DVD player, WIFI, movies, and books for your entertainment
Dining with a view seats 5 comfortably but 6 can fit
Full kitchen if you don't want to dine out
half bath upstairs
Ful bath downstairs with different colored towels so each guest can identify their towels
Guests park in covered parking under sundeck
The views are amazing.
Watching the sunset from the front yard
'Lois' our resident Desert Tortoise shows up in the Spring
The Cactus Patch
Cacti blooming
Sit around the firepit if it's not too windy for a fire
We have a beehive on the property, far from apartment and has a sign
Your hosts: Gayle and Tom
Without makeup
Just pull the BBQ outside and grill your dinner
We provide water bottles.  Just leave them on the sink and I clean and refill for next guest
Our home is next door to the apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Joshua Tree, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Convenient desert hideaway”
Reviewed 15 January 2017 for a stay in November 2016

We spent Thanksgiving staying at the Cactus Patch and absolutely loved it. The owners set us up for a great stay, complete with a baggie of dried fruit from the property. The location can't be beat and Gayle and Tom were friendly, hospitable local hosts. Be sure to look for the hiking trail up the street that ventures into Joshua Tree National Park.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! We really enjoyed hosting you and are so happy that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
climbingp...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay for our rock climbing holiday”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The Cactus Patch is an easy drive (about 20 mins) to the Joshua Tree Entrance of the National Park (and to the wide range of climbing). Joshua Tree has a great number of local eateries - Pie for the People and Siam Thai were both enjoyable.

The Cactus Patch was the perfect base for our rock climbing holiday. We spent most of the time cooking for ourselves and the kitchen was stocked with what we needed to make a great meal. The little touches Gayle and Tom add make such a difference - providing water canisters ready filled in the fridge, a variety of tea bags, coffee and hot chocolate were much appreciated. Being able to use the washer/dryer was good too as it helped reduce the amount of clothes we need to pack (as our equipment took up a lot of space).

The views from the property are stunning - you can't wait to get into the park each morning. At night the sky is so clear you can see all the constellations.

We recommend the Cactus Patch for a stay in Joshua Tree - we miss being there!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2017
Thank you so much for choosing us for your JT experience! We absolutely loved hosting you and would love to see you both again!!!!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Will definitely go back”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The host was great, very nice, but also gave us space. The place is very clean and has all of the comforts of home! We went on a great hike close by. We had a great experience and will highly recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean and peaceful
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate feedback to help us ensure that our guests have the best possible experience here in Joshua Tree.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zoyadixon
Irvine, California
1 review
“Amazing views and hospitality!”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My hubby and I, along with our 8-month old baby and miniature poodle, had an awesome getaway at the Cactus Patch! Gayle and Tom were lovely and hospitable. Location was amazing as it was a quick drive into Joshua Tree. The apartment had incredible views and while the clouds didn't allow for much star gazing last night, we still had a great time hanging out on the patio and enjoying the desert. Would absolutely recommend and would love to be back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed hosting your family and would love to do it again!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and letting us know that you had a great experience. Happy Trails
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoomerLad...
Richmond, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the Most Welcoming Places We’re Ever Stayed”
Reviewed 13 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Tom and Gayle really love where they live and obviously want their guests to have a great experience, too. They have gone the whole nine yards to provide just about everything you could want or need. The apartment has a full kitchen stocked with an amazing array of condiments, lots of cooking equipment, nice dishes, glassware! Bed and futon are very comfy. In the living room there’s a large screen TV, movies and books. There are also guides to Joshua Tree National Park – and if you need info or suggestions, Tom and Gayle know the area well. Hiking sticks and umbrellas for shade. One and a half bathrooms with lots of towels, including beach towels if you want to lay out on the unit’s deck. BTW, the view from the private deck is wonderful – a great place to have breakfast and afternoon drinks, and do some serious stargazing. There were even air mattresses and blankets to keep us warm while we watched Jupiter rise. These two should get an award as Hosts of the Year. Did I mention they are also very nice folks? Thanks Tom and Gayle for giving us a real home for three days in your beautiful desert!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Cactus Patch feels more like being in your own home than a rental. It's also quiet and very private!
Liked least: I liked everything! Just FYI, there are a number of stairs up to the apartment as well as two stairs between the living room and kitchen, so if you have trouble with stairs, this would not be the place for you unfortunately.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2016
Thank you so so much for taking the time to review The Cactus Patch. You let us know that we are right on track with our goal of ensuring that all of our guests have the best experience possible while staying with us. It makes my heart sing to hear that guests enjoy our amazing property. We loved hosting you and would love to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing