We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best one we've rented since 2007”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Joshua Tree, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
norajeanp...
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best one we've rented since 2007”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We just spent an awesome week at the Godwin Ranch. My wife and I have been coming out to Joshua Tree Park area since 2007. From camping to rentals to stays at the 29 Palms Inn, we have put time in here.
Godwin has been the best place we’ve rented hands down. The property is vast and orderly, and sits 7 miles east of the town of 29 Palms off of Amboy Rd., in Wonder Valley. I really loved the distance from town, far enough to be “out there” but close enough for an ice cream run to Stater Brothers.
Our desert routine is: to the park early, and to the water as the hot afternoons melt into evening. Godwin is less than 10 miles from the 29 Palms entrance on Utah Trail and it was only a 25 minute drive to Skull Rock, Live Oak, Jumbo Rocks and the rest of the park’s “rock” stars.
We have a 3 year old and the hot tub and pool are requisite for our desert trips. The two are close together and there’s a nice pebble path to guide you to them from the house. The tub looks to the east ands opens up for prime star gazing at night.
There’s an awesome couch swing, two kid’s swings, horse shoes, lawn chairs and room to spread out. The fire stove is a central piece of the backyard, and from the back porch, (wonderfully lit at night), you can sit in its glow from the picnic table or swing in the hammock watching the Milky Way.
There’s a separate bunker with a queen bed and AC, perfect for the visiting uncle or whoever doesn’t get the master bedroom. The master, with its own AC, was perfect for our gang. We put the rollaway in there for the boy and had the rest of the property to ourselves to hang around in after he was safely asleep.
The kitchen worked for our meals. We made breakfast lunch and dinner everyday of the week on the gas range and used the heck out of the grill. It was stocked with all my cooking from scratch needs. The dishwasher iced the cake.
The living room and dining room area was cozy, nice and cool with big TV with Direct television and a stereo that has speakers on the porch! I laid and read undistracted while the boy watched cartoons. The front porch gets the shade in the evening and there’s a table and chairs there too.
The house was clean, supplied with clean linens, soap, and there was a washer/dryer.
Godwin Ranch is sweet. As a family place, the space was ample and safe and full of options. As a guy who’s spent time in the desert before the family way of life, I knew Godwin could serve as an isolated, social pad to get loose with good company.
We plan to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review! We're offering 25% discounts for return visitors and 40% discount if you book this month for a stay between July 1st - October 31st.

Thank you again for the GREAT review! We would love to welcome you back for another stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Reviewed 7 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mattpPort...
Porter Ranch, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and enjoyable...not "perfect", and great for the price. Plus a fee night!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Overall, we weren't looking for a luxurious hi-end rental, but more of a rustic, close to nature commune. This place was that. We are pretty mellow people and the few thing that were not quite right...well...we didn't let it interfere and we had a great stay!
The backyard and front porch were great! We slept in the hanging, outdoor daybed thingy for 2 night. Way cool! It was very very quiet...neighbors were far enough away as to not really notice them. Pool and hot tub were clean and working great. However...why the privacy fence is open to the highway I don't understand. They should move the fence to the highway side. Then peeps could sit in the hot-tub and watch the sunset! Naked!
If you like critters (we do), you got 'em! Geckos, a trio of white desert iguanas (right outside every morning), tarantula, kangaroo rats, cayotes...we saw some of these while exploring the desert after sunset, others hanging out in the yard. I wanted rattlesnakes but saw none...

We arrived late at night on July 3rd to a clogged bathroom sink and a shower that barely trickled. The next day was July 4th holiday so I can understand that made it difficult to fix the problems on that day but they did come out and fix both the following day. We did manage to run a hose to and outdoors shower setup and took a shower there! That was very rustic and in-line with our intended vacation plans of a desert getaway.
AND they did give us an extra night with a late checkout for FREE to compensate for the plumbing issues.

A couple other minor issues: The stereo system: only 1 outside speaker worked and was not that great overall, We are big music people and had I known the stereo was "weak" I would have brought my own. But it did play music! And in the backyard!
1 of the picnic bench seats in the yard was broken, but we only needed 1!

And we watched the 29 Palms fireworks display from the backyard!
And a great sunset in the backyard at night an great sunrise in the front yard every morning!

If you like a quiet, rustic retreat (with pool and hot-tub) this one is great!

PS: be nice to the local critters! They now have names!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and solitude
Liked least: Upon arrival: shower barely worked / bathroom sink was clogged. Wasn't fixed until the next day. But they gave us a free night to compensate for this.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Reviewed 15 December 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing