We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Complete Serenity”

Review of Highland House

Modern home influenced by surrounding agricultural structures
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Modern home influenced by surrounding agricultural structures
Great room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Modern home influenced by surrounding agricultural structures
Great room
Sunrise from Great Room
Dining Table
Chef's kitchen
Chef's Kitchen
Breakfast nook
Master Suite
Bath and shower with a view off Master Suite
Balcony off of Master Suite
Upstairs Bedroom with ensuite bath
Bath with shower and bath
Bath with shower and bath
Nearby market with local produce, fresh bread, farmstead cheeses, and a deli
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Inverness, Marin County, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lovefranc...
California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Complete Serenity”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

My sister, 94 year old Dad and I had the pleasure of enjoying Highland House and
all the beauty Pt.Reyes National Park has to offer. Inverness somehow managed to
remain fairly smoke free during our week which over-lapped the Northbay fires.

The view from the house overlooking Tomales Bay is stunning from every room. This is a three level home and quite an architectural wonder - the architect carved out windows literally everywhere. And yes, we saw frequent deer.

Highland House offers every amenity and more than you could imagine. The luxurious towels, bed linens, plush duvets, extra wool throws, hair dryers, shampoo, conditioner and body wash are only a few to mention. Rachel really attends to details to make your stay comfortable. There was even a basket of house slippers offered which we did not use having brought our own.

Rachel was very responsive with correspondence before and during our stay. As we were staying during the extreme fire danger season, we were unable to light the fireplace but found the heating system with Nest controls was easy to use.

The main level offers a pull out couch in the den which we found to be perfect for Dad, his full bath was only a few steps away. This is a very comfy pull out couch. The double doors to the den are wood frame glass with cute French style curtains,
Perfect for our family, but worth mentioning if you happen to be three couples. The only tv is in the den.

We easily filled the week with drives to Bolinas, Pt Reyes Nathalie Park, Petaluma
and Healdsburg. And did our marketing in Pt Reyes Station starting with the Saturday farmer’s market. We found the Deli at the Palace Market to have a better selection than the Inverness Park Market. We had lunch twice at The Farmhouse in Olema and would recommend it to others. The Cowgirl Creamery was frequented for their signature tomato soup (you can pick up loaves of Brickmaiden Bread at just about every food retailer in Pt Reyes Station. Leona’s in Pt Reyes Station was a delightful surprise for shopping - the selections are of the quality you would expect in a major city. Bovine Bakery was our go to for their chocolate chocolate cherry cookies for Dad. Killer!

We wish we had even more time to explore the area, there is so much to see and we would highly recommend Highland House to others.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F
1 review
“Fabulous views, immaculate home”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

It is hard to imagine a more beautiful and restorative location to visit. All of the natural beauty of the Pacific coast and Tomales Bay is accessible from Inverness and most of it is also visible through the floor-to-ceiling windows in this well-appointed home. Peeking out above the trees, this modern home provides constant beauty and constant reminders of all nature is offering to you when you step outside. There are decks and balconies on every side of the house melding outside and inside spaces into one appealing whole. My entire party was delighted with our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leannesaw...
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Total Luxury in Nature”
Reviewed 30 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This home is so amazing. It's within walking distance to restaurants and wine bars, surrounded by a national park, has incredible views up and across Tomales bay, spacious and well equipped. It is also central to everything we desired.

We had an executive team retreat at the home. Each executive brought their spouse who played in the nearby park while we planned the coming year. Due to the indoor-outdoor nature of the home, we felt as if we were in nature all weekend, and the setting contributed to our long-view.

The kitchen is VERY deluxe, and well equipped with high-end vintage cookware and dishware. I'm coming back for this kitchen alone!!

In addition to the inspiring and spacious common areas, we each had ultimate privacy: every bed-bath accommodation is on a different level of the home. And each level has a private deck.

I'll definitely be back and highly recommend this home.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audieman
Alamo, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular Setting and Views”
Reviewed 29 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Spent the weekend at this beautiful home for a management retreat. Quiet serene setting overlooking Tomales Bat a short jaunt up the hill from Inverness . The setting is lush and peaceful and the 280 degree views take your breath away. Modern and spacious with terrific amenities. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent d
1 review
“Sea and Skye indeed!”
Reviewed 27 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Was lucky enough to be in this glorious house on an cold and sunny day and winter's eve. The outside beckoned as we sat inside in the morning over coffee and watched the sea, sky, flora and fauna parade before us while being toasty warm and cosy inside. We then went for a glorious four hour hike up to the ridge with amazing 360 degree views. So many trails and places to explore! Then, once the sun set and we'd watched the colors change while we shivered the last mile to the house, we were greeted by a warmth that welcomed, though with the enormous windows and stunning views we could watch the darkness descend and the stars come out while nestled with a glass of wine on the couch. I think 'Yum!' is the best way to describe it. Would definitely go back!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing