We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unbelievably Perfect!”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of GlenLin

living room and front balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
living room and front balcony
View from front balcony Braai area in back garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
living room and front balcony
View from front balcony
Braai area in back garden
Lounge
Lounge and Kitchen from the balcony
Kitchen
Dining Room
Main Bedroom
Second Bedroom
En suite bathroom
Arrow pointing to GlenLin
Looking at GlenLin with white balcony from the wetlands
Glencairn Beach
View of Glencairn from Elsie's Peak
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Glencairn, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Shibabz
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievably Perfect!”
Reviewed 17 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My parents, two sisters and I absolutely loved our recent stay at GlenLin. It is the first BnB\Self-Catering apartment that I have no complaints about. It's clean, spacious, tranquil, safe, beautiful, well stocked kitchen & very comfy. Definitely a home away from home. We'll be back for sure!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for a great review. We look forward to next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobo033
birningham
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent airy spacious apartment and value”
Reviewed 16 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

There was a welcome message, flowers and wine on arrival. Apartment was well equipped, spotlessly clean and well laid out - 2 bathrooms a big bonus. Balcony overlooking a wetland nature area with furniture and braai. Apartment 5 minute walk to beach (lovely and safe) and 10 minute walk to train station.

We loved our stay here and felt like it was home. Excellent communications with Laura throughout booking and during our stay.

We would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Spacious apartment
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2016
Thank you so much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freetotra...
Vancouver Island
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment in Glencairn but not quite as peaceful as we would have liked.”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

The apartment itself was very nice and we were quite happy with it. Laura purchased a grinder so my we could enjoy our coffee beans which was a nice gesture. It does have quite a lot of stairs to get up to the second floor from the street but although I have a hip problem I did manage them on a regular basis.

The negative aspects for us was the bed was quite small being a double vs the queen or king we are used to. As well, unfortunately there are several dogs in the neighborhood - next door on both sides, across the street and kitty corner to the property that barked fairly continuously starting from about 6 am. In addition there is a motorway about 1/2 a mile away straight across a marshy wetlands area and the cars and motor bikes with noisy exhausts that travelled on it were also disturbing, particularly in the early morning. Ear plugs are therefore recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The apartment was well laid out and very clean.
Liked least: The bed was quite small being a double vs the queen or king we are used to. Unfortunately there are several dogs in the neighbourhood, next door on both sides, across the strees and kitty corner to the property that barked fairly continuously.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. We are really pleased that you found the coffee grinder useful. Hopefully, it will be enjoyed by future guests. We appreciate you mentioning access to the apartment and hope we are clear on the information about GlenLin that there are both external steps and an internal stairwell as the property is built on a hillside. As such, the apartment is not suitable for anyone with any mobility problems. We want to ensure people are clear about this. We do also mention in the information that the beds are double. Glencairn is a popular area with dog lovers and we are very sorry that you were disturbed by barking. There is a busy road (one lane each way) on the opposite hillside across the wetlands and we are truly sorry that you were disturbed by the noise of traffic. Noise problems have not been raised as an issue with us before. However, we are pleased you mentioned them so that any future guests can make an informed decision before booking. We want GlenLin to be the right choice for our future guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne1471
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

An amazing location fab views Super beds can't say enough positive words .
Loved the little extras,coffee,tea ,shampoo ,towels,
Would definitely recommend to any one looking to stay in South Africa ,
We hope to return,
Alun and family .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2015
Thank you for such a lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again and hope you'll notice a couple more changes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanetteS...
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Space and some more space!”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We were lucky enough to spend a long weekend at GlenLin. It is such a spacious, open and airy unit. Loved the mornings when the sun just flooded through the windows. Everything is beautifully decorated and comfortable. The kitchen has everything that you could possibly need - just like being at home! Wish we could have spend a few more days there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the fireplace and the fully equipped kitchen.
Liked least: Street parking, but it was very safe.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for a lovely review. We appreciate your feedback and always have more improvements planned!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing