We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great time at the cottage!”
other travellers have booked this property
Cosy cottage for four guests in the gorgeous village of Windermere
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy cottage for four guests in the gorgeous village of Windermere
Windermere House and Village from the water The local steamship Sequin at Windermere Dock
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Cosy cottage for four guests in the gorgeous village of Windermere
Windermere House and Village from the water
The local steamship Sequin at Windermere Dock
Arrival
Welcome
Entry Area
Living Room, plenty of seating
Combined living and kitchen area, small breakfast table
Sunroom, open windows to enjoy summer breezes, great place for G&T before dinner
Master Bedroom, Queen plus single
Bedroom 2, 2 single beds
Bed no 2, in Bedroom no 2,
Bathroom, bright and clean
Aerial View of Windermere, cottage is across the street from the hotel
Windermere Village, view
The Windermere Golf Course is a few steps away
Tennis Courts at Windermere Golf Course
Sandy beach, great for kids, and the boat watching is terrific
Christ Church Anglican in the Village of Windermere
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Windermere, Muskoka Lakes, Muskoka District, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jeffery F
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great time at the cottage!”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a great time up at the Windermere cottage house. It was steps away from the lake and windermere beach. We did a lot of biking and our legs really felt the brunt of those hills. A great pub was across the street at the Windermere Hotel. We also took in a couples massage to really get in the mood. We highly recommend renting the Roost Cottage and hope to book in for next year.

Jeff

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2016
Thanks so much for your positive review Jeff, it was great to have you with us. It takes a lot to get up and down those hills on a bike, but we'd love to have you back to take another go!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tapata
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The Roost Cottage is delightful and I enjoyed my stay. The cottage was spotlessly clean and comfortable and well-equipped in terms of furniture, cooking, towels, shampoo, soap, etc.

There is a standalone air conditioner in the master bedroom. Parking is on the street.

There is no TV and I believe that the only radio is a wind-up one. Internet is not good at the cottage (the best location is at the lake end of the screened in porch) but I was told that I could go onto the porch of the owners' house next door and internet was good from there. All of that was not a problem for me but others who want to stay better connected might find it difficult.

Internet was good at Windermere Lodge and the lodge has a spa, restaurants and newspapers. The cottage is directly across the road from Windermere Lodge so it is very convenient in that regard. I used the spa and ate at the main restaurant and also the restaurant at the golf club and enjoyed both of my meals.

The lake is a couple of minutes walk away and there is a small beach there.

There is a little shop down the road a couple of minutes walk that is well stocked with various supplies and Port Carling is about a 15 minute drive.

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay in Windermere. I am hoping to improve the WIFI service by next year. Stay tuned!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssveda
Burlington, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A Delightful Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A friend & I escaped to Windemere for some R&R and stayed in this lovely home away from home. We found the home to be charming, well located, well maintained and fairly well equipped but the amenities in the ad stated it was waterfront, had wi fi and was air conditioned which was not accurate. It is located close to the water but definitely not waterfront. The internet/WiFi service was basically non-existent which caused some frustration when you expected it to be available. And as for air conditioning, NOT. There is one portable BTU unit in the master bedroom but unless the outside tempature is less than 28 degrees the entire upstairs is like a sauna. The kitchen is very well equipped except for the bar fridge which does not hold much. But having stated all this, now knowing what to expect, I would definitely book this property again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
It was so great to have you as a guest and glad you had a great time. Thanks for this review, it lets guest know in advance better what to expect than the yes no options in the Trip Advisor system. While there is WIFI available on the property, the signal varies at the cottage. Porch the best place to get it, and of course there is WIFI at the hotel right across the street. As for the cooling, it is generally enough to take the edge off when it is hot, but you hit the hottest night of the summer. In August we generally have warm days and cool nights.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelbarh...
Kingston, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Refreshing, beautiful, quiet, bright, well-equipped, tasteful, and all-Canadian”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

If you need a beautiful, quiet place to vacation or holiday -- look no further. Located in one of Muskoka's most exclusive spots--the lovely Windermere--and just steps from sparkling Lake Rosseau and a public but quiet beach and dock, this holiday rental house comes wonderfully equipped with cozy beds in tasteful bedrooms, relaxing sitting areas, a classy-rustic bathroom, and a fully-equipped lots-of-counter-space kitchen and dining area. All this in an idyllic, rejuvenating, refreshing setting. My wife and I have stayed here multiple times and we whole-heartedly, unreservedly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penina1C
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An excellent spot -- beautiful location; lovely, well designed and equipped comfy cottage; perfect hosts.”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I'll admit the name put me off at first -- what am I? A chicken? Well, let me tell you, no chicken ever had it so good! I would gladly move in. The cottage and the hosts are delightfully and endlessly accommodating. What a restful and enjoyable weekend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: A spot that immediately feels like home. No. Scratch that. Better!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing