We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ksar El Khorbat
Nearby Hotels
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
    Riad Agraw(Tinerhir)
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    US$93
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Excellent 5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Hotel Tamasinte(Tinerhir)
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
      Hotel Saghro(Tinerhir)
      TripAdvisor
      View Deal
      Average 3/5
      • Free Parking
      • Pool
      Hotel Tomboctou(Tinerhir)
      TripAdvisor
      View Deal
      Very Good 4/5
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      TripAdvisor
      View Deal
      Great 4.5/5
        Kenzi Bougafer(Tinerhir)
        TripAdvisor
        View Deal
        • Pool
        • Restaurant
        TripAdvisor
        View Deal
        Very Good 4/5
        • Free Parking
        • Pool
        Hotel Le Riad(Errachidia)
        TripAdvisor
        View Deal
        Good 3.5/5
        • Free Wifi
        • Free Parking
        Reviews (125)
        Filter reviews
        125 results
        Traveller rating
        79
        38
        5
        2
        1
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        79
        38
        5
        2
        1
        Show reviews that mention
        All reviewsfrench friestagineel khorbatstayed one nightvillagesupportingberberwifitextilesaccommodationmoroccotouroasisdesertguesthousemerzouga
        FilterAll languages
        Updating list...
        1 - 6 of 125 reviews
        Reviewed 4 weeks ago

        I wanted to stay at this place because I wanted to see the award-winning Museum of the Oasis that is located in the restored 16th century ksar complex. We were in El Khorbat in August and it was hot. While it has air-conditioning, the thick mud slab walls of the rooms kept the rooms cool and quiet. The rooms are basic but very clean and very comfortable. The restaurant served great food cooked by the local berber women living in the residential part of the ksar. The museum was a fascinating insight into the life of the ancient tsars and of the people, muslim and jewish, who worked the caravans along the old trade routes of Africa. One unexpected highlight was to visit to the women baking the bread for the entire community in a small mill and kiln located off one of the ksar laneways next to our accommodation. The experience of this place is incredible, second to none.

        • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
          • Value
          • Rooms
          • Service
        Thank Furfantis
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 23 June 2017

        We had lunch here after visiting the Berber Museum. The museum was fascinating and enlightening - there was so much to learn about the Berber culture. And its laid out in a way that makes it easy to take it in slowly and absorb it all. The museum itself is constructed (?) exactly as is the town, kind of all of one piece. There are "streets" that are totally enclosed except for openings for light. Makes me wonder about going out at night, at least inside the walls.
        Lunch was in the garden of the inn. It was delightfully pleasant and the food was quite good. If you can find this place I highly recommend it.

        Room Tip: Only had lunch here - didn't stay overnight.
        • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
          • Location
          • Service
        1  Thank David2entres
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        elkhorbat, Manager at Ksar El Khorbat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017
        Google Translation

        Bonjour,
        Merci pour votre message et opinio strictive!!!!!

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 20 June 2017

        Nice sized room and bathroom. No elevators so you need to lug your bags upstairs but this has been typical for Morocco. We got there mid afternoon on our tour heading to the desert the next day. We had a nice dinner and prior to dinner we were able to relax with a few cold beers and nice dishes of olives and nuts.
        This was one of our favorite hotels onour trip due to the nice cross ventilation thru the room. No TV but reasonable wifi in the lobby area. We really did nothing in the town but this stay was nice. Rooms were clean.

        • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Service
        Thank wacotom
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        elkhorbat, General Manager at Ksar El Khorbat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

        Thank you for your message and your realy end helpfel message!!!!

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 18 May 2017

        This is the main stop for tourists making their way to the desert camps at Merzouga, as it is only approx 150kms away. We arrived mid afternoon around the same time as a strong dusty desert wind. Our rooms were once again very clean and pleasantly large. The Museum of the Oasis is also located at the Ksar and a visit to this very informative and only 20 dirhams per person. Wifi signal here is very strong, so catching up with happenings around the globe is great.
        The guesthouse provides a set dinner, which for consisted of a choice of soup, salad or vegetables au gratin for starters, then main or Tagine chicken & citrus, as well as beef meatballs in tomato sauce, potato fries and frittata. Fresh fruit & yogurt was served for dessert. There is a pool here, however not currently in use. Coming here is restful preparation for the gruelling time ahead.

        • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
          • Value
          • Location
          • Service
        Thank Trace I
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 30 April 2017

        Full disclosure. We did not stay at the hotel, but came to see the Ksar, view the Berber Museum, and have lunch. As luck would have it, it was the last day of a festivial. The entry to the Ksar was full of locals, enjoying the musical performances, and selling their handmade goods to visitors. They were friendly and welcoming, encouraging us to dance and clap to the music, but not pushy about sales. The museum was very interesting and "user friendly", arrows directed you to the next room, or up the stairs, to a rooftop patio with pleasant breezes and views of the ksar. We had lunch on a rooftop patio at the hotel and as other reviews noted, it was unique and delicious.

        • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
          • Service
        1  Thank ofkat
        This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        elkhorbat, Gérant at Ksar El Khorbat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017
        Google Translation

        Merci pour votre avis de dire la vérité nous aussi très content et touché ...de servir et de faire quelque chose pour l humanité!!!!!merci mille foie
        Hmad

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        View more reviews