We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceeded all expectations !”
other travellers have booked this property
The Olive Store Cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Olive Store Cottage.
With a private garden and 3 acres of olive groves in which to relax and explore. In autumn. Looking over the cottage and down the valley to the sea and the distant Island of Evia
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
The Olive Store Cottage.
With a private garden and 3 acres of olive groves in which to relax and explore.
In autumn. Looking over the cottage and down the valley to the sea and the distant Island of Evia
The living room, with log burner and dining and sitting area. These can be used as addtional beds.
The upstairs double bedroom with additional single bed. Stairs to living room and door to outside.
The downstairs double bedroom with additional single bed. With doors to Kitchen and outside terrace
View of cottage from the fruit orchard.
The fabulous nearby Mikro beach. A 10 minute walk from Platania by footpath or by boat in summer
A view overlooking the nearby village of Platanias and it's beach. The far beach is Mikro.
Winter Olive tree pruning, we have fabulous wild flowers from January through to May.
Looking up to the owners house. Use wi-fi on our outside covered terrace or share a glass of wine.
In the summer we can take you to explore some wonderful hidden beaches on our boat Kaliope.
Sailing with Kaliope and friends......
October at Mikro beach, what makes Pelion so special is that it is so uncrowded and unspoilt.
Our entrance gate. We are 5 minutes by car (4km) to Platanias and the same distance to Promyri.
Spring flowers on our land at Randi. The roof of the cottage can just be seen...
More wild flowers at the cottage..... (in April)
Sailing to Horto in early May...  anyone for a coffee, or a beer??
The old threshing floor is used for occasional concerts or events .Visitors are welcome to use it.
Pelion has a great ski centre, small and friendly but plenty of fun for a few days.
January sunshine, the garden is green and winter wild flowers are appearing.
It is 3km on the old stone path to Platanias or Promyri, beautiful views and wonderful nature.
A warm welcome awaits you whatever the season...  at Olive Store Cottage.
Dinghy sailing fun at Mikro beach.
We are happy to take visitors on our Topper Topaz dinghy for some informal sailing lessons....
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Magnesia Region, Thessaly

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
817Renee6...
Chania Town, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceeded all expectations !”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

There are not many places where we have stayed that exceeded our expectations but Olive Store Cottage did........and our expectations were high ! Greek friends had told us how beautiful Pilion is so we were really looking forward to our visit, however nothing prepared us for the magical experience of sitting outside the cottage listening to the nightingales followed by the nightjars and a full moon !! Our other magical experience was our afternoon sailing with Kathryn and Chris ..

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2015
We enjoyed welcoming you to Olive Store Cottage and your enthusiastic response to our fabulous area. It is such a lovely time of year with nature and wildlife at it's best. About the only thing you missed out on were dolphins when we were sailing, perhaps next time. Thank you for your kind review and we hope to be able to welcome you again some time. Best wishes, Chris and Kathryn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul P
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Walk in the Greek countryside - British hosts speak Greek - solitude without isolation”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The delightful Olive Store is set on a hill in the rural Pelion district, a safe distance from the touristy island of Skiathos. Its friendly and energetic owners are resident most of the year and are fully integrated into the community, speaking the language, clearing, mapping and signposting local walking and hiking paths, so they are well very qualified to help plan trips and meals at various local villages.

The waterfront at Platanias with its handful of tavernas to the left and right of the downhill road, and its few shops, is idyllic as is the neighbouring sandy beach at Mikro.

The cottage now sports a shower for users of the upstairs bedroom as well as the one downstairs. The kitchen is small but perfectly viable, though you will hardly want to spend your time cooking. The surrounding gardens and paths have been further enhanced.

Once you have got yourself here - following the useful driving instructions supplied by Chris and Katherine - you will probably wish you had booked a longer stay.
Already looking forward to our next visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Natural unspoilt beauty of area, information and help from hosts, friendly locals
Liked least: Entrance from the road could be indicated more clearly. Also, it's miles to the nearest bookshop!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2015
Thank you for your latest review of the cottage. It was a real pleasure to welcome you back in the spring time with the wild spring flowers at their best. We were glad you approved of the changes we had made since your last visit and you have given us a few ideas for the future too. We look forward to welcoming you again before too long, best wishes, Chris and Kathryn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel H
Heathfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hoem from Home”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A wonderful place to stay and relax which really does feel like home being well furnished and decorated with lots of pictures on the walls, books and other home comforts. Chris & Katherine are the ideal hosts offering as much or as little help and assistance as you want and happy to take their time with trips on their boat 'Kalliope' and enjoying the fabulous scenery with walks on the Kalderimi paths with whose renovation they are heavily involved.
All in all thoroughly recommended without reservation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: no dislikes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2014
We really enjoyed meeting you and helping you discover a little bit more of Pelion from Olive Store Cottage. We hope you come and visit us again soon. Best wishes, Chris and Kathryn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
binallthi...
Lauder, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage, wonderful hosts, wonderful part of Greece”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We spent two wonderful weeks in Olive Store Cottage. The house is in a beautiful setting with sea views. The beautifully restored cottage is well-equipped and comfortable and provides a very relaxing environment. We loved having all our meals in the shaded patio area.

Chris and Kathryn are perfect hosts. We felt we gained from them a great understanding of the area and benefitted from taking part, at their invitation, in a couple of local events with the delight of meeting a number of their Greek friends. It's important to say though that this was an option that, like a number of other guests, we chose to take up. It would have been no problem to have a quiet holiday with less local involvement. The cottage is remote enough (though only 10 minutes from the village) to allow this.

We went on a number of walks of varying lengths along kalderimi, the old donkey paths which Chris and Kathryn help restore through the Friends of Kalderimi group.

Olive Store Cottage offers a perfect environment to to explore this little-known area of Pelion in mainland Greece. We found previous guests' reviews helpful in deciding to visit.

Thanks so much to Chris and Kathryn for being such great hosts and thanks again for taking us out sailing in Kaliope.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2014
Thank you for you kind review. We very much enjoyed your company and our shared activities together. It is always great to meet new visitors who appreciate this wonderful area in the same way that we do. We look forward to welcoming you again if you decide to return in the future. Best wishes, Chris and Kathryn.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to the cottage although we know the surrounding area very well. We were delighted with the changes the owners have made to the house in the intervening period - the addition of the upstairs bathroom have made it even easier to accommodate growing children and the outside shower was enjoyed by all members of the family. Once again we had a relaxing holiday aided by the thoughtful welcome provisions provided for our arrival and the extensive DVD and book library to while away any downtime away from local beaches or tavernas. We particularly appreciated the provision of Wifi facilities at the 'Internet cafe' adjoining the owners house a short distance from the cottage which enabled us to keep in touch with the 'outside world' when we needed to. We will be booking again as soon as we can as the cottage is a haven of tranquility in a delightful part of Greece.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
Thank you for your review. It is always great for us to welcome back returning guests and we are delighted you had an enjoyable and relaxing holiday. Generally our guests from the UK fly to Greece but it is interesting that you travel here by car and your stay with us is the final destination of a European road trip. What an adventure! We are happy to give visitors advice on planning their own road trips to Olive Store Cottage. We hope to see you here again next year. Best wishes, Chris and Kathryn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing