We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very helpful owner”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Yellow Cabin

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Gingerland, Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Tegan F
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very helpful owner”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Unfortunately we were unable to stay in the Yellow cabin due to a double booking. However the owners were very helpful and arranged alternative accommodation for us to stay in. They also arranged car rental for us and were generally very helpful throughout the whole process.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2014
Tegan,

We appreciate your review. Thank you for being so understanding about the double booking. We are disappointed that you did not get to experience our lovely accommodation but we extend an invitation to come back and do so in the future. We wanted to ensure that you were well taken care of on your stay so I am happy that you appreciated the effort we made. I hope you had a wonderful vacation and we hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul r
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“just as good as we hoped”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the Yellow Cabin with my wife in February 2014. The photos looked great and I can honestly say that the cabin is as good as it looks. You should be aware that it is not in walking distance from the sea, indeed it is out in the bush on the slopes of mount Nevis and you definitely need a hire car. Good hire car deal from Striker's who also own the yellow cabin. The nearest house is three or four hundred yards away. Semi wild donkeys roam about, along with humming birds, green vevert monkeys, and a very friendly Caribbean Robin who spent most of the day pecking his image in the wing mirror of our hire car!
Tezel looked after us really well - for example I asked about a barbecue and a few hours later a new one magically appeared. The internet connection was quicker than we encountered in any hotel in the Caribbean.
Very positive report on the Botanical Gardens and the Horatio Nelson museum which I will review separately.
If you are looking for somewhere special which is clean and remote you cannot improve on the yellow cabin!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secluded paradise
Liked least: no real problems. The access track was very rough
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2014
Paul,

Thank you for such a beautiful review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we loved having both of you. As with all guests we try to make your stay with us as relaxing and enjoyable and go the extra mile to ensure we make it a memorable one.

Thank you for the lovely drawing of the Yellow Cabin. It is absolutely beautiful! We are delighted that you were inspired to do draw it and we have gladly framed and displayed it there for everyone to see.

Looking forward to you visiting us again. All the Best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvanique
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tranquil Haven”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We were a bit reserved booking a cabin away from the beach (as the beach is top of the list on a Caribbean holiday). However this was the best decision of our holiday. The little yellow cabin is just what it says on the tin. It is nestled in a quiet village in the tranquil island of Nevis and is the perfect place for a relaxing and refreshing holiday.

The cabin in fully furnished with all the amenities you would expect in an top hotel. Fresh fruits greeted us on our arrival along with a fridge stocked with Carib the local beer and water.

Although located away from the beach, in Nevis beaches are never more than a short drive. And with the discount on a vehicle with the cabin rental we were ready to explore the rest of the island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The service, The authentic carribbean feeling of the cabin
Liked least: that we evntually had to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We absolutely loved having you and your guest and look forward to you visiting us again. We tried to ensure that everything was perfect for your stay and from your review it seems like it was. All the best to you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, great place for a very good price. I highly recommend!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The Yellow Cabin is comfortable, clean accommodation and modestly priced. We would definitely stay there again!!

The owners were very attentive to our needs. We got in late had to take the last ferry over from St. Kitts, we were met by Tazel at the port taken to the cabin (I don't think we would have found it in the dark). Our rental car was at the cabin. They had stocked fridge with bottled water, fruits and coffee/tea (which was great; need my coffee in the mornings). Thank you Tazel. :)

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2014
Mary,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Yellow Cabin. We absolutely loved having you and your guest and look forward to you visiting us again. We tried to ensure that everything was perfect for your stay and from your review it seems like it was. All the best to you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unique decor and architecture of the house
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Sep 2013
Tim
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Yellow Cabin. We absolutely loved having you and your guest and look forward to you visiting us again. We tried to ensure that everything was perfect for your stay and from your review it seems like it was. All the best to you and your family!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing