We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Fantastic Weekend At A Beautiful House”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of The Old Hall

The Old Hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Hall
Heated Pool and Garden Atmospheric Great Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
The Old Hall
Heated Pool and Garden
Atmospheric Great Hall
Garden Room
Drawing Room
Yellow Sitting Room
Country Kitchen With Aga
Poolside Pavilion
Poolside Pavilion
Childrens Chill Out Room
Master Bedroom Suite Overlooking The Garden
En-Suite Bathroom / Dressing Room
Oak Bedroom - superking bed
Oak Bedroom En-suite
Crewel Bedroom - with dressing room and en-suite
17th Century Four Poster
Attic Dorm - Sleeps 4 Kids
View To Garden Terrace
The Garden - Yew Hedges and Topiary
Pop Up Glamping
Tennis Court
Perfect for Celebrations and Get Togethers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Saxlingham Nethergate, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tom R
1 review
“A Fantastic Weekend At A Beautiful House”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I recently stayed at the Old Hall with a group of 9 friends for a celebratory weekend away. The house was absolutely beautiful and the gardens were equally stunning. We made full use of the heated pool and the tennis court as well as partaking in a bit of archery booked for us by the owners in the garden. Overall the whole weekend was very special and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone else that asked. Janine who owns the house was also extremely helpful and organised.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wooden interior of the house.
Liked least: The church bells.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain D
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal choice for our family reunion”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Old Hall surpassed our expectations for our annual family reuniion. Our thre children. their partners & five grandchildren all enjoyed everything that the Old Hall offered. Two Canadian relatives joined in to make it a happy occasion to remember.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unique atmosphere
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joetaylor...
londn
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The simply perfect house for a large party”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Eleven friends go away every year for our 'reunion' and we have been doing so for seven years now. I can honestly say that 'The Old Hall' was simply perfect. As we pulled up on the sweeping drive, to be greeted by the most amazing house, I honestly thought we were lost. Reassuringly though, Janine and her husband welcomed us at the front door with champagne and cupcakes and the rest is history!
We managed to fit in a Quad Bike Safari & Clay Pigeon Shoot, Fish and Chips from the brilliant 'Bill', Lunch on 'Serenity' along The Broads, the most wonderful day of Beauty Treatments by Yolande & an attempt at tennis & swimming!
The Old Hall itself is wonderful, there are so many gorgeous spaces to choose from. There are enough rooms to all pile onto the sofas in one, or disappear with a good book in another.
The kitchen was a particular favourite with everyone, as well as the beautiful Pool House room.
Grounds to stroll about in, peacocks to admire and the most elegant and friendly chickens we have ever come across!

We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: The odd noisy peacock, if I'm being really picky!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Amazing home from home great for family get together”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Spent 10 days at this marvelous house with my girls and their friends and my family. Thirteen of us in total. The house is beautiful and the grounds amazing. Huge amount of space for everyone. Fantastic kitchen so well equipped, 3 different living rooms, the great dining room - and a cinema room experience upstairs for the kids. Outside the grounds are immense and stunning - and peacocks, chickens and geese quietly wander around. The pool is well maintained and the pavilion next to it was a great chill space for the kids. Janine was so helpful - and we did it all! External caterers, Archery, Beauty treatments - and a Norfolk Broads day cruise. Overall a fabulous get away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The Kitchen
Liked least: Only 1 shower on property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penelope...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The most perfect place for a family holiday- so much more to this property when you actually get there!'”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A simply stunning house- immaculately decorated with such thought for every activity.
We arrived from all over England - family and friends - aged 2-74, and quite simply didn't need to go anywhere else!
A huge kitchen - better stocked than mine ! and a larder more than large enough for supplies for 14.
Bedrooms and bathrooms for all were stunning- and soo comfortable.
There were so many different corners of the most beautiful gardens we could have dined in - all of us outside in I have to say glorious weather - such a treat!

Copious sun- loungers allowed the lazier ones to chill by the pool (lovely and warm ) while the rest of us played pretty competitive tennis - starting early most mornings- after the yoga on the lawn!
The small people adored feeding the chickens and the peacocks out of the kitchen window- and if you needed to have a quiet spot inside or outside there were more than enough views to choose from.
The house has a gentle friendly atmosphere and we could see how a winter/ christmas stay would be enchanting.
I am sorry to say the house and grounds were so accommodating that only a few of us ventured to the broads for a day - we were having such a relaxed time back at the house!.
Forget driving for hours to Cornwall, Norfolk is stunningly beautiful, we will have to go back to see and do more, including all the possible activities that the owners will lay on if asked.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and grounds
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1 145
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing