We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea(Carmel)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$255
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$321
US$310
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$352
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Green Lantern Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$488
US$460
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$257
US$249
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$267
US$215
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$674
US$646
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Carmel Valley Ranch(Carmel)
US$879
US$661
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$812/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$806
US$722
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Normandy Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
174
128
37
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
128
37
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquichegranolacookiesquiet neighborhoodfire pitfresh fruithear the wavesnice breakfastscenic driveocean viewcomfortable bedfirst morningother guestsspent nightsdowntown carmelsan franciscobeautiful carmel
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 355 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2018

This small hotel is a few steps away from the beautiful Carmel beach and within walking distance to the heart of the town.
It has all the charm of an old country house with its nice living room with great windows and a working fire. Kitchen open to guests.
Old rooms with their plus and their obvious minus (no tv, good wifi in room 6).
Very nice breakfast served in the lounge.
Small garden with sitting areas.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChiaraMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

We did a quick stay after leaving Pebble . Close walk to beach. Room was neat and clean. About a 20 Mom walk to Carmel shopping . Plenty of parking for your car or rental. We opened the windows and could hear the ocean.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jbottomley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

Great B&B close to the beach, one of their largest rooms. Very clean and well presented. The breakfast quiche was delicious and I especially appreciated the tea-time cookies:) Feels like you're staying at an aunt's house, with some self-service aspects but also great hospitality for breakfast. We could hear the ocean waves from our room and see parts of it and Pebble beach through the trees. Only bad thing is the lack of soundproofing in the rooms allows you to hear conversations outside or in the sitting area. No TV or phone in the rooms, so you can relax. Closest B&B to the beach, but a bit far from town and shopping (about 24 minutes walk). But that also keeps it more quiet and peaceful. Highly recommend this place.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Nojope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

Hubs and I came to the Monterey Bay Area for our honeymoon and were planning to “wing it”. We wanted an unplanned adventure-moon after all the stressful planning of the wedding. The Sandpiper Inn was a lucky find for us! At check in they gave us a tour of the available rooms and let us pick the perfect quiet corner of the house. We loved everything about this place! As a happy bonus, we could hear the waves of the ocean with our window open at night!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TripsterColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

This place is not cheap but it does offer a perfect haven in which to unwind. More like a rambling private house, or a really good old-fashioned British bed & breakfast place, the owners make you feel like a genuine guest rather than a paying customer who they have to put up with.

The hotel contains one (count it: one) television set, in the breakfast room. If you check into a hotel in order to watch soap opera or the football then look elsewhere. If you want somewhere to get away from bloody television then this might work for you.

Guests are invited to treat the kitchen as their own (except for the cooker itself and the washing machine), free bottled water is kept in the fridge, a lovely selection of tea and biscuits is served at 4pm each day, and breakfast is included.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyjacknicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews